AddThis SmartLayers

Belfast Telegraph wins big at media awards

Irish daily newspaper The Belfast Telegraph picked up a host of awards at the Coca-Cola CIPR Northern Ireland Media Awards this week.

Telegraph journalists picking up seven of the event’s top awards, including ewspaper of the Year, Media Website of the Year and a Lifetime Achievement Award for former editor Roy Lilley who led the paper at the height of the Troubles.

In the Newspaper of the Year category, the judges said the Telegraph “offers a brilliant service to its readers every day, with consistently high standards of reporting”.

They added: “This year its depth of quality is reflected in the individual awards already presented this evening.  The levels of professionalism and dedication to craft are obvious on every page.”


Belfast Telegraph editor Mike Gilson receives the award for Newspaper of the Year from Marie Campbell, left, of sponsors Coca-Cola and Gillian Shields, CIPR chair