AddThis SmartLayers

Yorkshire's best to be named at industry contest

A shortlist of journalists in the running to take awards at an industry competition has been announced ahead of next week’s final.

Editors, sub-editors, reporters and photographers from across Yorkshire are to once again fight it out in 14 categories at the annual Yorkshire Press Awards, which is sponsored by Yorkshire Water.

Among the nominees are Rick Lyon from the Hull Daily Mail and Arlene Lawler from the Wakefield Express, who were last year named daily and weekly news reporter of the year respectively.

And the Hull Daily Mail and Yorkshire Evening Post will battle it out once again for the crown of Yorkshire daily newspaper of the year.

There will also be prizes for weekly newspaper of the year, young journalist of the year, community reporter of the year, leader writer of the year, columnist of the year, daily and weekly feature writer of the year, photographer of the year, sports writer of the year, business writer of the year and graphic designer of the year.

All the winners will be announced during a ceremony at the Cedar Court Hotel in Wakefield on November 10, where an overall award for Yorkshire Journalist of the Year will also be presented to one of the individual prize winners.

Each individual winner will receive a cash prize of £100, with each runner-up receiving £50. A further £500 will also be presented to the overall Journalist of the Year, with £100 for the runner-up.

The full shortlist, in alphabetical order, is below:

  • Lucy Ashton, The Star
  • Anila Baig, Yorkshire Post
  • Jessica Boulton, Hull Daily Mail
  • Bridlington Free Press
  • Ian Briggs, Bradford Telegraph & Argus
  • Lisa Cook, York Evening Press
  • Sarah Crabtree, The Star
  • Jo Davison, The Star
  • Paul Dews, Yorkshire Evening Post
  • James Hardisty, Yorkshire Evening Post
  • Nicola Harley, Hull Daily Mail
  • Richard Hopwood, Yorkshire Post
  • Hull Daily Mail
  • Simon Hulme, Yorkshire Post
  • Paul Jeeves, Yorkshire Evening Post
  • Arlene Lawler, Wakefield Express
  • Mellisa Lee, Doncaster Free Press
  • Paul License, The Star
  • Anna Locking, Dewsbury Reporter
  • Rick Lyon, Hull Daily Mail
  • Anne Pickles, Yorkshire Evening Post
  • James Roberts, Halifax Evening Courier
  • Lisa Rookes, Wakefield Express
  • Nigel Scott, Yorkshire Evening Post
  • Vicki Shaw, Yorkshire Evening Post
  • Peter Smith, Yorkshire Evening Post
  • Wakefield Express
  • Greg Wright, Yorkshire Post
  • Yorkshire Evening Post

    Back to the awards index

    Have you won a press award? We’d love to hear from you.
    E-mail [email protected]