AddThis SmartLayers

Regional press in the running for top awards

Staff from the Bristol Evening Post, Bournemouth Daily Echo, Shields Gazette and Western Mail are among those in the running for a Newspaper Society award.

The nominations are part of the Society’s Newspaper Sales and Promotions Awards, which include several categories for editorial staff.

Awards will be handed out for Newspaper of the Year; Journalist of the Year; Young Journalist of the Year; Photographer of the Year; Young Photographer of the Year; Community Newspaper of the Year (Daily/Sunday); Community Newspaper of the Year (Weekly); Campaigning Newspaper of the Year (Daily/Sunday); Campaigning Newspaper of the Year (Weekly); Design and Layout of the Year and Best Local Newspaper Week Initiative.

There will also be more than 20 sales and promotion awards presented as the best newspaper sales initiatives, promotions ideas and editorial content are recognised.

The winners will be announced during an awards ceremony at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel on March 29.

The full list of editorial nominations is:

  • Jonathan McCambridge, Belfast Telegraph
  • Mary Fitzgerald, Belfast Telegraph
  • Bournemouth Daily Echo
  • Bristol Evening Post
  • Chris MaGuire, Bristol Evening Post
  • Cambridge Evening News
  • Keith Jones, Cambridge Evening News
  • Coventry Evening Telegraph
  • Cumberland News
  • Corin Messer, Daily Echo, Bournemouth
  • Derby Evening Telegraph
  • Evening Star, Ipswich
  • Exeter Express & Echo
  • Galloway News
  • Rick Lyon, Hull Daily Mail
  • Lancashire Evening Post
  • Mansfield Chad
  • Plymouth Evening Herald
  • Amy Neal, Sevenoaks Chronicle
  • Sheffield Star
  • Murray Kelso, Shields Gazette
  • Lorna Rutter, Shrewbury Chronicle
  • South London Press
  • South Wales Argus
  • South Wales Echo
  • Andrew Davies, South Wales Echo
  • Southport Visiter
  • Greg O’Keefe, Southport Visiter
  • Caroline Wheeler, Sunday Mercury
  • Teeside Evening Gazette
  • Dave Charnley, Teeside Evening Gazette
  • The Argus, Brighton
  • Tony Wood, The Argus, Brighton
  • The Citizen, Gloucester
  • Aisling McViegh, The Citizen, Gloucester
  • The Cumberland News
  • Clare Lewis, The Sentinel, Stoke
  • Western Daily Press
  • Adam Postans, Western Daily Press
  • Rob Norman, Western Mail
  • Worksop Guardian
  • Wrexham Evening Leader
  • Yorkshire Evening Post
  • Steve Riding, Yorkshire Evening Post
  • Emma Nichols, Yorkshire Post

    To see a list of the sales and promotions nominees, visit:

    Back to the awards index

    Have you won a press award? We’d love to hear from you.