AddThis SmartLayers

Press Gazette award winners

Winners of the Press Gazette Regional Press Awards have received their prizes from former Coventry Evening Telegraph journalist Dermot Murnaghan – who now presents ITV’s nightly news.

The top prize of Newspaper of the Year, sponsored by National Savings, was awarded to The Evening Herald, Plymouth.

This prestigious award was chosen from the winners of each of the four top categories.

Other results were:

Daily/Sunday Newspaper of the Year:
The winner was the Yorkshire Post

Other nominees for the title were:
The Journal, Newcastle;
Sunday Mercury;
Irish News;
Western Mail;
Wales on Sunday.

Weekly Newspaper of the Year:
The winner was the South London Press

Other nominees were:
Kent Messenger;
Westmorland Gazette;
Tivy-Side Advertiser;
Highbury & Islington Express;
East Kilbride News.

Evening Newspaper of the Year:
The winner was the Evening Herald, Plymouth

Other nominees were:
Evening Times, Glasgow;
Manchester Evening News;
Express & Echo, Exeter;
Nottingham Evening Post;
Belfast Telegraph.

Free Newspaper of the Year:
The winner was the Milton Keynes Citizen

Other nominees were:
Camden New Journal;
Manchester Metro;
The Borehamwood & Elstree Times;
The Wharf;
Enfield Advertiser.

Campaign of the Year:
The winner was the Tamworth Herald

Other nominees were:
Sunday Life, Belfast;
Nottingham Evening Post;
Western Daily Press;
Cornish Guardian;
South Wales Echo.

Newspaper Society Local Newspaper Week Award:
The winner was the Evening Press, York

Other nominees were
Evening Chronicle, Newcastle;
Yorkshire Evening Post;
Cambridge Evening News;
The Gazette, Blackpool;
Nottingham Evening Post.

Specialist Reporter of the Year:
The winner was Tracey Sparling, The Evening Star, Ipswich

Other nominees were:
Tracy Fletcher, Hull Daily Mail;
Jayne Freer, Evening Herald, Plymouth;
David Bruce, Yorkshire Evening Post;
Paul Linford, The Journal, Newcastle;
Tom Whitehead, Nottingham Evening Post.

Scoop of the Year:
The winner was Darwin Templeton, Belfast Telegraph (Patten report)

Other nominees were:
Martin Shipton, Wales on Sunday (Ron Davies interview);
Steve Panter, Manchester Evening News (Bomb suspect named);
Mike Waites, Yorkshire Post (Cancer patient’s op postponed for fourth time);
Paul Taylor and Patrick Lavelle, Sunderland Echo (Missing millions);
Paul Kennedy, Liverpool Echo (Baby organs doctor).

Business & Financial Journalist of the Year (sponsored by PricewaterhouseCoopers):
The winner was Jim Simpson, Yorkshire Post

Other nominees were:
Jason Groves, Western Morning News;
Nigel Scott, Yorkshire Evening Post;
Jim Pendrill, Liverpool Daily Post;
James Stinson, Irish News;
Jon Griffin, Birmingham Evening Mail.

Personal Finance Journalist of the Year (sponsored by National Savings):
The winner was Peter Sharples

Other nominees were:
Adrienne McGill, The News Letter, Belfast;
Harry Day, Eastern Daily Press;
Jane Hall, The Journal, Newcastle.

Reporter of the Year (sponsored by Virgin):
The winner was Chris Bucktin, Hull Daily Mail

Other nominees were:
Jayne Freer, Evening Herald, Plymouth;
Tom Richmond, Express & Echo, Exeter;
Edward Jarvis, Nottingham Evening Post;
Simon Mowbray, Sunday Mercury, Birmingham;
Diane Simon, Jersey Evening Post.

Feature Writer of the Year:
The winner was Gail Walker, Belfast Telegraph

Other nominees were
Colin Chinery, Eastern Daily Press;
Abbie Wightwick, The Western Mail;
Kellie Redmond, South London Press;
Angela Wintle, Evening Argus, Brighton;
Nicola Barry, The Press & Journal, Aberdeen.

Production Team of the Year:
The winner was Manchester Evening News (Shipman)

Other nominees were:
Daily Echo, Bournemouth (Centenary);
Evening Herald, Plymouth (Action Replay);
Birmingham Evening Mail (Rover);
The Star, Sheffield (Kwit It);
The Press & Journal, Aberdeen (Your Home).

Columnist of the Year (sponsored by Sheaffer):
The winner was Martin Freeman, Evening Herald, Plymouth

Other nominees were:
Stephen McClarence, Yorkshire Post;
Ray King, Manchester Evening News;
Barrie Hudson, Swindon Evening Advertiser;
Mike Amos, Northern Echo;
Peter Elson, Daily Post, Liverpool.

Sports Journalist of the Year (sponsored by talkSPORT):
The winner was Matthew Reeder, Swindon Evening Advertiser

Other nominees were:
Richard Broadbent, Leicester Mercury;
Phil Rostron, Yorkshire Evening Post;
Leon Hickman, Birmingham Evening Mail;
John Gibson, Newcastle Evening Chronicle;
Noel Sliney, Western Morning News.

Young Journalist of the Year (sponsored by BT Cellnet):
The winner was Bryn Jones, Daily Post, Liverpool

Other nominees were:
Alex Gore, Lincolnshire Echo;
Shannon Kyle, Staines & Egham News;
Susie Boniface, Evening Herald, Plymouth;
Martin Breen, Belfast Telegraph;
Sarah Crabtree, The Star, Sheffield.

Online News Service Award (sponsored by Virgin):
The winner was

Other nominees were:

Photographer of the Year:
The winner was Mike Urwin, Northern Echo

Other nominees were:
Peter Bolter, South Wales Echo;
Frank Dwyer, Evening Press, York;
Nicky Lewin, East Anglian Daily Times;
Andrew James, Western Mail;
Mike Tipping, Evening Press, York.

Sports photographer of the Year:
The winner was Steve Ellis, Sheffield Star

Other nominees were:
Nick Treharne, Western Mail;
Ann McManus, Irish News;
Tim Easthope, Birmingham Post & Mail;
Mike Bickerdike, Yorkshire Post;
Mike Urwin, Northern Echo.

Have you won an award? We’d love to hear from you.
E-mail us now for more details.