AddThis SmartLayers

Press awards judges pick 68 nominees from 400 entries

The Scottish Daily Newspaper Society has revealed the shortlist of nominees for this year’s Scottish Press Awards.

Almost 400 entries were received for the contest, which comes to a climax on May 27 in Glasgow.

As well as the nominated award-winners and the Newspaper of the Year and Journalist of the Year awards there will also be a special Lifetime Achievement Award, to be presented on the evening to mark the Silver Anniversary of the event this year.

The Awards encourage and promote standards of journalism and recognise professional talent and skills.

They are open to journalists and photographers working for newspapers and magazines published in Scotland and Scottish-based journalists and photographers writing exclusively on Scottish affairs for non-Scottish publications.

Judges’ chairman Charles Wilson said: “Nearly 400 entries were received for this year’s awards, and the standard as always is extremely high.

“This year’s event marks an important milestone of promoting best practice within the industry – we are looking forward to rewarding excellence and professionalism in Scottish journalism.”

The event has the support of a number of high profile sponsors, including the AA, Bord Na Gaidhlig, Citigate SMARTS, Dewar’s World of Whisky, Event Consultants Scotland, MCL, Radisson SAS Hotels & Resorts.

The Scottish Daily Newspaper Society was founded in 1915 and is the representative body for the publishers and editors of Scotland’s morning, evening and Sunday newspapers including the Scottish editions of selected UK national newspapers.

The editors’ committee, on which all titles are represented, meets quarterly to discuss such key issues as freedom of the press and self-regulation. It is represented on the Press Complaints Commission and the Code Committee. It is also in regular dialogue with the Scottish Executive and other government departments.

The categories and nominations are:

SDNS Scottish Newspaper of the Year
– sponsored by SDNS

To Be Announced At The Awards on May 27

Journalist of the Year
– sponsored by SDNS

To Be Announced At The Awards on May 27

Scoop of the Year
– sponsored by SDNS

Andy Beaven, Scottish Daily Mail – Scandal of Cocaine Use at Holyrood
Crime Team, Sunday Mail – Unmasked
Stephen Rafferty, Scottish Mail on Sunday – Cover Up Fury as Evil Drugs Baron Flees Jail
Sharon Ward, The Scotsman – Leaked Documents Expose Scottish Enterprise Failures

Reporter of the Year

Alan Carson, Scottish Sun
Gethin Chamberlain, The Scotsman
Patricia Kane, Scottish Daily Mail
Neil Mackay, Sunday Herald

Financial/Business Writer of the Year

Ian McConnell, The Herald
Terry Murden, Freelance/The Herald/ Scotland on Sunday
Andrew Murray-Watson, Scotland on Sunday
Karl West, The Herald

Feature Writer of the Year
– sponsored by Radisson SAS Hotels & Resorts

Vicky Allan, Sunday Herald
Gillian Bowditch, The Scotsman
Catherine Deveney, Spectrum, Scotland on Sunday
Michael Tierney, The Herald

Columnist of the Year

Elisabeth Mahoney, The Herald
Fraser Nelson, The Scotsman
Ruaridh Nicoll, Observer
Alison Rowat, The Herald

Campaign of the Year

Magnus Gardham, Daily Record – Pensioners Losing Out
Dave King, Daily Record – NEDS
Helen Macrae, Highland News – Heartbeat Appeal
Marion Scott, Sunday Mail – The De La Salle Campaign

Front Page of the Year

Alan Crow, Scottish Daily Mail – Maniac on the Loose
Rob Dalton, Scottish Sun – Killa in Sevilla
Charles McGhee, Evening Times – Our Public Servants
Ian Stewart, Edinburgh Evening News – Have you Seen This Man

Journalist Team of the Year
– sponsored by Event Consultants Scotland

Gillian Bowditch, The Scotsman – Scotland’s Timebomb
Alan Carson, Scottish Sun – The Ole Grail
Charles Gall, Daily Record – Arlene Fraser Trial Ends
Patricia Kane, Scottish Daily Mail – Holyrood

Weekly Newspaper Journalist of the Year
– sponsored by the AA

Joanne Curran, Paisley & Renfrewshire Gazette
Julie Currie, Linlithgow Gazette
Donald Fraser, Highland News
David Knox, Southern Reporter
Brian Marjoribanks, Falkirk Herald

Political Journalist of the Year
– sponsored by the AA

Jason Allardyce, Scotland on Sunday
Kenny Farquharson, Sunday Times Scotland
Douglas Fraser, Sunday Herald
Lindsay McGarvie, Sunday Mail

Sports Journalist of the Year

Bryan Cooney, Sunday Herald Sport
David Ferguson, The Scotsman
Paul Forsyth, Scotland on Sunday
Bill Leckie, Scottish Sun

Arts/Entertainment Writer of the Year
– sponsored by Dewar’s World of Whisky

Catherine Deveney, Spectrum, Scotland on Sunday
John Dingwall, Daily Record
Peter Ross, Sunday Herald
Aidan Smith,The Review, Scotland on Sunday

Cartoonist of the Year
– sponsored by MCL

Frank Boyle, Edinburgh Evening News
Steven Camley, The Herald
Ranald McColl, Scottish Daily Mirror
Dave Gaskill, Sunday Mail

Young Journalist of the Year
– sponsored by Citigate SMARTS

Richard Gray, Scottish Daily Mirror
Jenifer Johnston, Sunday Herald
Edd McCracken, Sunday Herald
Abigail Wild, The Herald

Gaelic Journalist of the Year/Sgriobhadh Gaidhlig
– sponsored by Bord Na Gaidhlig

Angus Peter Campbell, The Scotsman
Murdo MacLeod, Scotland on Sunday
Cathy Mary McMillan, The Scotsman

News Photographer of the Year

Tony Nicoletti, Daily Record
Robert Perry, The Scotsman
Ian Rutherford, The Scotsman
Alan Simpson, Sunday Mail

Sports Photographer of the Year

Donald MacLeod, The Scotsman
Tom Main, News of the World
Kenny Ramsay, Scottish Sun
Ian Rutherford, The Scotsman

Back to the awards index

Have you won a press award? We’d love to hear from you.