AddThis SmartLayers

Sister titles dominate shortlist at annual journalism awards

Lucy OwenRegional sister titles have dominated the shortlist ahead of this year’s Wales Media Awards.

Reach plc website Wales Online and its Western Mail sister newspaper have received a total of 19 nominations between them, ahead of an awards ceremony next month.

The Mail is one of three Reach newspapers shortlisted for the Daily/Sunday Newspaper of the Year crown, alongside the North Wales Daily Post and South Wales Echo, which is defending the title

Reach also takes a clean sweep in the Newspaper Journalist of the Year category, with all seven nominated journalists working for one of the group’s Welsh titles.

There is a strong showing for Newsquest in the Weekly Newspaper of the Year category, where most recent victor the Powys County Times and the Western Telegraph are both nominated.

They will face competition from Midland News Association title the Mid Wales Journal.

The awards will be presented at a ceremony at the Mercure Holland House Hotel in Cardiff on 25 March.

The ceremony will be hosted by BBC Cymru Wales presenter Lucy Owen, pictured, and ITV Cymru Wales’ Jonathan Hill.

The full shortlist is as follows:

Magazine of the Year
Wales Business Insider
Western Mail Weekend magazine

Camera Operator of the Year
Dai Baker – C4 News
Geraint Thomas – BBC Cymru Wales
Tom Brown – BBC Sport Wales

Independent Community Journalism
Cwmbran Life
Aberystwyth EGO
Caerphilly Observer

Feature Writer of the Year
Theo Meredith Davies-Lewis – The National Wales
Ffion Lewis – Wales Online
Will Hayward – Wales Online & Western Mail
Amanda Powell – Western Mail Weekend Magazine

Columnist of the Year
Robert Rhys – Barn
Sara Robinson – Western Mail
Sarah John – Western Mail
Will Hayward – Wales Online & Western Mail

Photographer of the Year
Joann Randles – Cover Images
Ian Cooper – North Wales Daily Post
Dimitrios Legakis – Athena Picture Agency

Vlog/Blog of the Year
Ed Gilbert – Gourmet Gorro
Chris Knight –

Newspaper Journalist of the Year
Owens Evans – Daily Post
Philip Dewey – Media Wales
Will Hayward – Wales Online & Western Mail
Ffion Lewis – Wales Online
Ryan O’Neil – Wales Online
Abbie Wightwick – Western Mail
Kelly Williams – Daily Post

Audio News Journalist of the Year
Beth Edwards – BBC Radio Wales
Owain Clarke – BBC Radio Wales
Mark Hutchings – BBC Radio 4 and BBC Radio 5 Live

TV Journalist of the Year
Rob Osborne – ITV Cymru Wales
Andy Davies – Channel 4 News
Hannah Thomas – ITV Cymru Wales
Charanpreet Khaira – ITV Cymru Wales
Rhys Williams – BBC Cymru Wales

News Website of the Year
Wales Online
The National Wales
BBC Cymru Fyw
BBC Wales News Online

Daily/Sunday Newspaper of the Year
South Wales Echo
Western Mail
North Wales Daily Post

Weekly Newspaper of the Year
Western Telegraph
Powys County Times
Mid Wales Journal

Specialist Journalist of the Year
Jenny Rees – BBC Cymru Wales
Hannah Thomas – ITV Cymru Wales
Gwenfair Griffiths – BBC Radio Cymru
Mark Smith – Wales Online

Political Journalist of the Year
Owain Phillips – ITV Cymru Wales
Will Hayward – Wales Online & Western Mail
Laura Clements – Wales Online & Western Mail
Ione Wells – BBC Cymru Wales

Audio News & Current Affairs Programme of the Year
BBC Radio Cymru – Dros Frecwast
BBC Radio Wales – Drive with Gareth Lewis
BBC Radio Cymru – Y Bachwyr Swynol

Sports Journalist of the Year
Chris Wathan – BBC Radio Wales
Simon Thomas – Media Wales
David Owens – Nation Cymru
Tom Coleman – Wales Online

Ed Townsend Student Journalist of the Year
Nest Jenkins – Cardiff University CJS News
Jessica Quirin – University of South Wales
Chris Knight – Cardiff Met Sport TV

TV News & Current Affairs Programme of the Year
ITV Cymru Wales – Y Byd ar Bedwar
S4C – Llofruddiaeth Mike O’leary
ITV Cymru Wales – Coronavirus: A Care Home’s Story

Young Journalist of the Year
Reem Ahmed – Wales Online
Joe Robinson – Flintshire & Wrexham Leader
Ffion Lewis – Wales Online
Ione Wells – BBC Cymru Wales