AddThis SmartLayers

HTFP to resume partnership with revamped Regional Press Awards

PA22_300x250_enterNowHoldtheFrontPage is to resume its partnership with the revamped Regional Press Awards under their new organisers, we are announcing today.

As previously reported, the awards are being revived this year by Haymarket Publishing and the News Media Association after the Society of Editors’ 10 year stewardship of the event came to an end.

Entries are still open across the 19 categories with the ceremony to be held on 8 March 2023 – the same day as the national Press Awards – at London’s Westminster Park Plaza.

HTFP will be partnering with Haymarket in helping to promote the awards and will once again be sponsoring the Front Page of the Year prize, as it previously did under the SoE.

Publisher Paul Linford will also be taking part in the judging along with a host of experienced editors and journalism trainers including Neil Benson, Mike Sassi, Mike Norton, Lisa Bradley, Nicola Furbisher and Richard Bowyer.

Chairing the judging panel will be Peter Sands, former editor of the Northern Echo, and Gail Walker, who edited the Belfast Telegraph.

Said Paul: “It’s now 12 years since HTFP helped revive the Regional Press Awards when the SoE originally took them on, so we’re delighted to be able once again to help ensure they continue their long and proud history.

“As the home of regional journalism news and jobs for more than 20 years, showcasing the great work done by regional press journalists has always been a key objective for us and the awards are a great opportunity to do that.”

Helen Horton, director of events at Haymarket Business Media, added: “We are delighted to be partnering with HoldtheFrontPage and look forward to working together to help make the Regional Press Awards an outstanding success.

“We believe this year’s awards will be the biggest and best ever – a real celebration of the power of local journalism right across the UK, for which we are very pleased to have HoldtheFrontPage on board.”

HTFP has sponsored the Front Page of the Year Award since 2019, having sponsored the Young Journalist of the Year prize between 2010 and 2018.

This year’s award will celebrate the most memorable and impactful front page published in print in the period between 1 January 2021 to 31 October 2022, with judges looking for originality, clarity and most of all immediate impact.

Entries to the awards close on 20 October.  The full list of categories is below.

Young journalist of the year`
Reporter of the year (daily)
Reporter of the year (weekly)
Sports journalist of the year
Specialist journalist of the year
Feature writer of the year
Columnist of the year
Photographer of the year
Designer of the year
Scoop of the year
Campaign of the year
Reporting communities award
Cathryn Nicholl Award
Digital initiative of the year
Website of the year
Supplement of the year
Front page of the year
News brand of the year (Small)
News brand of the year (Large)