AddThis SmartLayers

City daily scoops double at journalism awards

A city daily scooped an awards double as Scotland’s best journalist was celebrated.

The 42nd annual Scottish Press Awards were presented last night, with the Glasgow Times winning Local Campaign of the Year for its ‘Give Our OAPs a shot’ campaign.

Jack Aitchison took the Young Journalist of the Year crown, making it a double celebration for the Times.

The Scotsman’s Alan Pattulo received Sports Feature of the Year and Dani Garavelli reclaimed Feature Writer of the Year for her work in Scotland on Sunday and Tortoise, while Arts and Entertainment Journalist of the Year was won by Susan Swarbrick at Glasgow-based daily The Herald.

Winners at the 42nd annual Scottish Press Awards are being unveiled at a ceremony at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central tonight (29 September 2021). Scottish sun

In new award categories Lesley-Anne Kelly of DC Thomson Media won Specialist Reporter of the Year, and Julia Bryce of Aberdeen’s Press & Journal scooped the Food and Drink Writer of the Year prize.

Weekly Newspaper of the Year went to the Lennox Herald, and The Orcadian received the inaugural Chairperson’s Award for how they’d served their local community and “stood up for its readers” during the pandemic.

Scottish Newspaper Society Director John McLellan said: “There is no question that 2020 was the most difficult year news publishing has ever faced, keeping readers properly informed through the biggest crisis any of us have ever known at the same time as the revenues on which all titles depend all but collapsed.

“But as an industry we were more than up to the challenge, as all our entries and our growing audiences clearly demonstrate.

“It has been brilliant to have our first in-person awards since the pandemic began and it’s a clear statement of intent that the sector will recover and continue to serve our communities.”

The full list of winners is as follows:

Young Journalist of the Year: Jack Aitchison, Glasgow Times

Political Journalist of the Year: Chris Musson, The Scottish Sun

Financial/Business Journalist of the Year: Greig Cameron, The Times

Interviewer of the Year: Stephen Stewart, Daily Record

Feature Writer of the Year: Dani Garavelli, Scotland on Sunday/Tortoise

Travel Writer of the Year: Gabriella Bennett, The Times

Columnist of the Year: Alex Bell, The Courier

Sports Columnist of the Year: Gary Keown, Scottish Mail on Sunday

Sports Feature of the Year: Alan Pattulo, The Scotsman

Sports News Writer of the Year: Stephen McGowan, Scottish Daily Mail

Arts and Entertainment Journalist of the Year: Susan Swarbrick, The Herald

Specialist Reporter of the Year: Lesley-Anne Kelly, DC Thomson Media

Food and Drink Writer of the Year: Julia Bryce, The Press & Journal

Sports Photographer of the Year: Ian MacNicol, Getty Images

News Photographer of the Year: Jane Barlow, Press Association

Best Coverage of a Live Event: The Scottish Sun, Park Inn Stabbings

News Website of the Year: The Scottish Sun,

Podcast of the Year: Weekend Bigots

Nicola Barry Award: Laura Smith

Local Weekly Feature Writer of the Year: Christina O’Neill, Glasgow Live

Local Weekly Reporter of the Year: Dale Haslam, Evening Express

Local Weekly Campaign of the Year: Glasgow Times, Give Our OAPs a shot

Weekly Newspaper of the Year: Lennox Herald