AddThis SmartLayers

Reporter picks up third award as she qualifies as senior

Rhoda MorrisonA weekly newspaper reporter picked up her third award for excellence during her training as she qualified as a senior.

Bury Free Press reporter Rhoda Morrison, pictured, has been awarded the Paul Durrant Award for her outstanding performance in the National Qualification in Journalism exams.

The award is presented annually to a newly qualified journalist working on a newspaper in the East of England for their performance in the senior exams.

Sponsored by Archant, the award was launched in 2015 in honour of Paul Durrant, former assistant editor of the Eastern Daily Press and NCTJ journalism trainer, before his death from cancer the following year aged 63.

Rhoda, who also won the NCTJ’s Trainee of the Year award and the Esso practical skills NQJ award in 2019, was presented with a cheque for £250 at Friday’s NCTJ student council conference.

David Powles, EDP and Norwich Evening News editor, said: “We’re delighted to be able to continue to support the type of excellent journalism that Paul Durrant was so renowned for.

“Paul was also passionate about ensuring young journalists were well-trained, which is why this award is so fitting.”

Twelve students were also rewarded at the conference for achieving the best results in the 2018-19 NCTJ Diploma in Journalism exams.

Each winner receives a certificate and a cheque for £250 from the award sponsor.

The full list of winners was as follows:

The ITV News broadcast journalism award
Sophie Reaper, University of Salford

The Facebook production journalism award
Costanza Pearce, PA Training

The Mark Allen Group business of magazines award
Sophie Bird, NCTJ distance learning

The Society of Editors shorthand award (100wpm)
Marthe de Ferrer, News Associates Manchester

The Sky Sports News shorthand award (110 wpm)
Ella Jerman, News Associates London
Jennifer Tombs, News Associates London

The Archant essential journalism award
Adam Landau, University of Kent

The Archant videojournalism award
Harry McMullen, Leeds Trinity University

The Oxford University Press essential media law award
Rory Sullivan, PA Training

The Oxford University Press public affairs award
Kishan Vaghela, News Associates London

The JPIMedia media law: court reporting award
David Marriott, The University of Sheffield

The Premier League sports journalism award
Sam France, News Associates Manchester