AddThis SmartLayers

Three to go head to head for region’s best newspaper crown

Three titles will go head to head in a bid to be crowned the best newspaper in the region they serve.

Orcadian, the Shetland Times and the West Highland Free Press have all been shortlist for the Newspaper of the Year title at this year’s Highlands and Islands Media Awards.

A total of 13 categories are up for grabs at the awards including Journalist of the Year, the winner of which will be revealed at the ceremony.

The winners will be announced at the Highlands and Islands Press Ball and Media Awards, to be held on Friday 7 February 2020 at the Kingsmills Hotel, Inverness.

Gordon Fyfe, chairman of the Highlands and Islands Media Awards judging panel, said: “The media awards recognise and reward the best in journalism across our dispersed area which stretches from Shetland to Argyll and from Moray to the Outer Hebrides.

“Once again, we were delighted with the number and high standard of entries and choosing a shortlist has been an extremely difficult task.

“Thanks to everyone for taking the time to enter and congratulations to our finalists. We look forward to revealing the winners in February.”

The full shortlist is as follows:

Top Business Story of the Year (sponsored by Inverness Chamber of Commerce)
Stan Arnaud, Press and Journal
Sarah Sutherland, Orcadian
Craig Taylor, Orcadian

Best Use of Gaelic (sponsored by Bòrd na Gàidhlig)
Shona Macmillan, Fios
Roddy Munro, BBC
Dòmhnall Pollock, BBC

Best Use of Digital Media
Stuart Findlay, Press and Journal
Dave Flanagan, freelance, Orkney
Intermedia Services (Stornoway)

Young Journalist of the Year – Alex Main Trophy
Jonathan Clark, Highland News and Media Ltd
Chris MacLennan, Press and Journal
Ryan Nicolson, Shetland Times

Sports Reporter of the Year
Mark Harcus, Orcadian
Andrew Henderson, Highland News and Media Ltd
Andy Skinner, Press and Journal

Photographer of the Year
Paul Campbell, freelance, Inverness
Callum Mackay, Highland News and Media Ltd
Malcolm Younger, Shetland

Top Shot of the Year
Eric Cormack, Highland News and Media Ltd
Trevor Martin, Freelance, Inverness
Willie Urquhart, West Highland Free Press

Reporter of the Year – Jim Love Memorial Award
Louise Glen, Highland News and Media Ltd
Iain MacInnes, BBC
Keith Mackenzie, West Highland Free Press

Top Story of the Year
Louise Glen, Highland News and Media Ltd
David Mackay, Press and Journal
Chris MacLennan, Press and Journal

Feature Writer of the Year
Daniel Bennett, BBC Radio Shetland
Chris Cope, Shetland News
Val Sweeney, Highland News and Media Ltd

Community Newspaper of the Year
Am Pàipear, Uists
Fios, North Lewis,
Rudhach, Point, Lewis

Newspaper of the Year
Shetland Times
West Highland Free Press

Diageo Journalist of the Year
To be announced on the night