AddThis SmartLayers

Shortlist revealed for first awards in memory of news editor

Young journalists are set to be honoured at an inaugural awards launched in memory of a former news editor who died last year aged 49.

The shortlists have been revealed for the first ever Nick Machin Prize, which were established earlier this year in honour of ex-South Wales Echo journalist Nick Machin, pictured below.

The awards are open to journalists aged 26 or under currently working in Wales, with categories for Young Journalist of the Year and Outstanding Story/Feature by a Young Journalist.

Two special judges’ awards for investigative journalism and journalistic endeavour will also be presented at a ceremony next month.

Nick Machin

The winners of those awards will be drawn from the 28 entries across both categories.

Society of Editors chair Ian MacGregor, who chaired the judging panel, said: “We know Nick would have loved having these young journalists in his newsroom.

“The standard of entries from different news organisations was exceptional.

“The quality of writing showed great insight, depth, compassion and maturity. And it was great to see coverage of such a wide variety of important subjects, championing local people.”

The inaugural awards ceremony will be held on Thursday 16 January 2020 at the School of Journalism, Media and Culture at Cardiff University.

The shortlist is as follows:

Outstanding Story/Feature by a Young Journalist
Amanda Cashmore – “Woman turns to Facebook to find a sperm donor”
Estel Farell-Roig – “Crack cocaine, heroin and me: The £210-a-day habit that has taken over my life”
Ben James – “Drugs, rugby and a very Welsh problem: How steroids infected the game”
Marcus Hughes – “Schizophrenia, my brother and me: The mental health condition we still aren’t talking about”
Anna Lewis – “Why Wales’ most pro-Brexit town doesn’t care about European money”

Young Journalist of the Year
Amanda Cashmore
Estel Farell-Roig
Marcus Hughes
Anna Lewis
Aamir Mohammed
Lydia Stephens