AddThis SmartLayers

Political editor scoops three of daily’s six prizes at annual awards

A daily newspaper’s political editor scooped an awards hat-trick at a ceremony which saw his title take home six honours in total.

The Daily Record’s David Clegg won Journalist of the Year, Political Journalist of the Year and Scoop of the Year at last night’s Scottish Press Awards.

The Record was also Newspaper of the Year and Journalism Team of the Year, while Jonathan McFarlane, from the Glasgow-based paper, won Outstanding Digital Journalist of the Year.

In the local and weekly categories, the Fife Free Press won the Newspaper of the Year crown, while there were two wins for the Aberdeen Express after Dale Haslam was named Reporter of the Year and Callum Law took the Sports Writer of the Year prize.

All the winners at last night's ceremony

All the winners at last night’s ceremony

The Wishaw Press won Campaign of the Year for its ‘Time to Talk’ mental health drive, while the Clydebank Post’s Tristan Stewart-Robertson was named Feature Write of the Year.

Austin Lafferty, chair of the judges for the Scottish Press Awards, said: “In another year of high achievement for the Scottish press and media, local and national, daily and weekly output of words and pictures has never been of better quality or relevance.

“But one newspaper has stood out with the scoop of the decade (at least). The Daily Record published the gigantic story of Alex Salmond’s investigation for alleged – and vehemently denied – misconduct.

“It has rebounded and re-echoed throughout the political and civil nation, and from a press perspective has been unbeatable.”

All the winners received their prizes at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, in Glasgow, yesterday evening.

The full list of winners is as follows:

Young Journalist of the Year – Carla Jenkins, The Sunday Times

Arts and Entertainment Journalist of the Year – Barry Didcock, The Herald and The Herald on Sunday

Interviewer of the Year – Peter Ross

Political Journalist of the Year – David Clegg, Daily Record

Columnist of the Year – Neil Mackay, The Herald and The Herald on Sunday

Sports Columnist of the Year – Stephen McGowan, Scottish Daily Mail

Financial/Business Journalist of the Year – Graham Huband, The Courier

Feature Writer of the Year – Dani Garavelli, Scotland on Sunday and The Scotsman

Sports Feature Writer of the Year – Aidan Smith, The Scotsman

Sports News Writer of the Year – Andrew Devlin, The Scottish Sun

News Photographer of the Year – Jeff Mitchell, Getty Images

Sports Photographer of the Year – Ian MacNicol, Getty Images

Digital Team of the Year – The Scottish Sun

Outstanding Digital Journalist of the Year – Jonathan McFarlane, Daily Record

Local/Weekly Sports Writer of the Year – Callum Law, Evening Express

Local/Weekly Feature Writer of the Year – Tristan Stewart-Robertson, Clydebank Post

Local/Weekly Campaign of the Year – “Time to Talk”, Wishaw Press

Local/Weekly Reporter of the Year – Dale Haslam, Evening Express

Local/Weekly Newspaper of the Year – Fife Free Press

Nicola Barry Award – Karin Goodwin, The Ferret and Sunday National

Scoop of the Year – David Clegg, Daily Record

Front Page of the Year – “The Day Scotland Ground to a Halt”, Scottish Daily Mail

Reporter of the Year – Graham Grant, Scottish Daily Mail

Campaign of the Year – “Mesh Campaign”, Sunday Post

Journalism Team of the Year – “Beast from the East – live coverage”, Daily Record

Lifetime Achievement Award – Dorothy Grace Elder

Journalist of the Year – David Clegg, Daily Record

Newspaper of the Year – Daily Record