AddThis SmartLayers

Finalists revealed after record-breaking year for regional journalism awards

Nina HossainThe finalists of an annual regional journalism awards have been revealed after a record number of entries were received.

A total of 149 enries were submitted for this year’s Kent Press & Broadcast Awards across 15 categories, trhe most in its five-year history.

The not-for-profit scheme is organised by Kent PR and marketing agency Maxim, and the winners will be revealed at a ceremony held on Friday 12 July at Kent County Cricket Club, in Canterbury.

They will be hosted by award-winning journalist Nina Hossain, pictured, who presents the ITV Lunchtime News, is the main anchor for ITV News London and also presents News at Ten.

Maxim’s Rachel Knight said: “In consultation with the judges, we’ve changed a few categories this year so they better reflect the day-to-day work that takes place in Kent’s newsrooms.

“As ever, the entrants proved that journalists love a deadline with more than half of them leaving it until the last few hours to submit their entries.

“We were really pleased to see so many people entering for the first time, proving local media in Kent is thriving.”

The full list of finalists is as follows:

Best Use of Digital Media, sponsored by Eurotunnel
‘cene magazine
Lauren McDougall, Kent Live
Stuart Maisner, BBC South East

Kent Broadcast Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Westwood Cross Shopping Centre
Colin Campbell, BBC South East
Lauren Moss, BBC South East
Louisa Britton, KMTV
Poppy Jeffery, KMTV

Kent Columnist of the Year, sponsored by Kent Invicta Chamber of Commerce
Chris Hunter, Gravesend and Dartford Messengers
Ed McConnell, Medway, Gravesend and Dartford Messengers
Nikki White, Medway Messenger
Rachel Dixon, Medway Messenger

Commitment to the Community, sponsored by Saga
Hythe Life
John Nurden, Sheerness Times Guardian
Kent Messenger
Thanet Extra – Thanet Community Awards

Kent Design(er) of the Year, sponsored by The Historic Dockyard Chatham
Bygone Kent
‘cene magazine
Dave Hobday, Folkestone & Hythe Express/Gravesend Messenger
Mark Eastham, Kent Messenger/Kentish Gazette/What’s On

Kent Feature Journalist of the Year, sponsored by MHA MacIntyre Hudson
Ben Ashton, Kent Live
Derek Johnson, ITV Meridian
Marijke Hall, Kentish Gazette Series
Sam Supple, BBC South East

Kent Magazine of the Year, sponsored by Stagecoach South East
Bygone Kent
‘cene magazine
Isle Magazine
Sevenoaks Sports

Kent Media Innovation of the Year, sponsored by Port of Dover
ITV Meridian
Kent Live
kmfm news

Kent New Journalist of the Year, sponsored by EKC Group
Katie Boyden, Kent Live
Phil Wellbrook, KMTV
Sean Doherty, Kent Live
Will Rider, Kent & Sussex Courier

Kent News Website of the Year, sponsored by LKM Recycling
Kent Live
The Isle of Thanet News

Kent Newspaper of the Year, sponsored by Southeastern
Kentish Gazette
Kent Messenger
Medway Messenger
The Isle of Thanet News

Kent Photographer of the Year, sponsored by Brachers
Daisy Watson, ‘cene magazine
Frank Leppard, Kent Live/Isle of Thanet Gazette
John Horton, The Isle of Thanet News
Matthew Walker, freelance

Kent Print Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Benenden Hospital Trust
Amy Nickalls, Medway Messenger
Chloe Holmwood, Sheerness Times Guardian/Sittingbourne News Extra
Katie Boyden, Isle of Thanet Gazette
Sean Axtell, Kentish Express/Folkestone & Hythe Express

Kent Programme of the Year, sponsored by Digitom Video Production
BBC South East Today
Kent Cooks, KMTV
KM Football Podcast
ITV News Meridian

The Neil Bell Kent Sports Journalist of the Year, supported by Kent Cricket
Ben Watts, BBC Radio Kent
Juliette Parkin, BBC South East
Stephen Page, Kent & Sussex Courier/Kent Live
Steve Tervet, Gravesend Messenger