AddThis SmartLayers

Shortlist unveiled after record number of entries to journalism awards

Sixty finalists are set to compete for 15 awards when one English county gathers to honour its best journalists.

The shortlist has been announced for the Kent Press & Broadcast Awards, which are now in their fourth year.

The scheme, run by Kent PR and marketing agency Maxim, received a record 148 entries this year.

The winners will be unveiled at a ceremony to be held at Kent County Cricket Club’s St Lawrence Ground, in Canterbury, on Friday 13 July.

A selection of this year's KPBA nominees

A selection of this year’s KPBA nominees

Maxim’s Rachel Knight said: “The judges take their role very seriously and spend a long time reviewing all the entries and then deliberating over the results.

“The language was worse this year which means they are the most passionate panel yet.”

The full list of nominees is as follows:

Best Use of Social media, sponsored by Eurotunnel
Kent Live – Kent Traffic & Travel
KM Charity Team
Save Our Buses, Kent Live
Tom Darby, BBC South East

Kent Broadcast Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Barretts
John Ryall, ITV News Meridian
Lauren Moss, BBC South East Today
Leanne Rinne, BBC South East Today
Louisa Britton, KMTV

Kent Columnist of the Year, sponsored by Kent Invicta Chamber of
Chris Hunter, Medway Messenger
Nikki White, Medway Messenger
Seb Reilly, The Isle of Thanet News
Stringer, Gravesend Messenger

Kent Design/er of the Year, sponsored by Westwood Cross
‘cene magazine
Matthew Panting, KM Media Group
Paul Acres, Kent Messenger/Gravesend Messenger
Samantha Barton, Kent Life

Kent Front Page of the Year, sponsored by Yoyo Design
Ashley Austen, Kent Messenger
Gravesend Messenger
Kent Life
Kent & Sussex Courier

Kent Magazine of the Year, sponsored by Shepherd Neame
Bygone Kent
‘cene magazine
Isle Magazine
Kent Life

Kent New Journalist of the Year, sponsored by EKC Group
Andy Robinson, Kent Live
Harry Peet, KMTV
Katie Boyden, Kent Live
Keilan Webster, KMTV

Kent News Website of the Year, sponsored by LKM Recycling
Isle of Thanet News
Kent Live
Kent Online
The Canterbury Journal

Kent Newspaper of the Year, sponsored by Southeastern
Dartford & Gravesend Messengers
Kentish Gazette
Kent Messenger
Medway Messenger

Kent Photographer of the Year, sponsored by Clive Emson Auctioneers
Andy Jones, Freelance/KM Media Group
Frank Leppard, Kent Live/Isle of Thanet Gazette
Gary Browne, KM Media Group
Matt Walker, Freelance/KM Media Group

Kent Print Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Benenden Hospital
Dan Wright, Kentish Express
Ed McConnell, Gravesend & Dartford Messengers
Guy Bell, Kent Messenger
Marijke Hall, Kentish Gazette Series

Kent Programme of the Year, sponsored by Digitom Video Content
BBC South East Today
ITV News Meridian
Kent Non-League Podcast
kmfm Drivetime with Rob Wills ‘Make Someone’s Christmas’

Kent Sports Journalist of the Year, supported by Kent Cricket
Benjamin Watts, BBC Radio Kent
Cameron Tucker, KMTV
Keilan Webster, KMTV
Stephen Page, Kent & Sussex Courier/Folkestone Herald/Sevenoaks
Chronicle/Isle of Thanet Gazette/Dover Express

Kent Young Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Port of Dover
Andy Robinson, Kent Live
Harry Peet, KMTV
Luke May, Kent Messenger
Sian Elvin, Kent Live

Kent Feature Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Saga
– Jo Burn, BBC Radio Kent
– Joe Walker, Kentish Gazette
– Mike Gunnill, Bygone Kent
– Samuel Supple, BBC Inside Out & BBC South East Today