AddThis SmartLayers

Regional daily scoops hat-trick at publisher’s annual awards

Johnston Press logoA daily newspaper scooped a hat-trick of prizes at a regional publisher’s annual awards.

The Star, Sheffield, triumphed in the Editorial Team of the Year category at the Johnston Press Awards, while two of its journalists received individual honours.

Chris Burn won Daily Journalist of the Year, while George Torr was named Trainee Journalist of the Year.

All winners were invited to a celebration lunch held by the company on Friday.

The Lancashire Evening Post was awarded Daily Title of the Year, while the Wigan Observer won the equivalent category for weeklies.

Paul Lynch, of the Northampton Chronicle & Echo, was named Weekly Journalist of the Year.

The full list of award winners was:

Title of the Year (Daily)

Lancashire Evening Post

Title of the Year (Weekly)

Wigan Observer

Editorial Team of the Year

The Star, Sheffield

Journalist of the Year (Weekly)

Paul Lynch – Northampton Chronicle & Echo

Journalist of the Year (Daily)

Chris Burn – The Star, Sheffield

Trainee Journalist of the Year

George Torr – The Star, Sheffield

Sports Journalist of the Year

Chris Young – Sunderland Echo
William Watt – The Gazette, Blackpool

Feature Writer of the Year

Aasma Day – Lancashire Evening Post

Design of the Year

Michelle Kilner – Design Hub

Photograph of the Year

James Hardisty – Yorkshire Post

Story of the Year

The Shoreham Airshow Crash – Sussex team

Best Team of the Year

Media Sales Centre

Sales Team of the Year

Isle of Man Newspapers
Team Yorkshire

Best Sales Team Member (Inbound)

David Field

Best Sales Team Member (Outbound)

Curtis Congreve

Best Sales Leader

Diane Black – Northern Ireland
John Bottomley – Yorkshire

Best Sales Performance

Jody Simpson – Telesales, Jobs
Martin Thomas – Lancaster Guardian

Best Supporting Role in the Business

Editorial Learning & Development
Great Content and Group Templates

Customer Service Award

The Quality Team (MSC)

Best Use of Video


Best Use of Social Media

Iain Lynn – North West

Initiative of the Year

Dave Kerridge – Reading Project
Sam Wrench – Top of the Class

Brand of the Year

The Scotsman

One Step Beyond Award

Andy Sykes and Bryan Walker – The Gazette, Blackpool / North West
Karen Tehrani – LDFE, Sunderland Echo

Collaboration Award

Q4 Sales Launch Event Team

Innovation Award

Voice Local

Campaign of the Year

Jonathan Brown (Yorkshire) – Be A Hero

Digital Audience Award

Matt Reeder
Northamptonshire Team

Chief Executive Award

Duncan Chappell and Anne Reynolds – Group Services
Mohammed Hassan – Finance

Online Learning & Development

Sharon Bartlett – South
Sheffield Web


You can follow all replies to this entry through the comments feed.
  • May 3, 2016 at 11:05 am

    The Design of the Year has been, presumably, designed within the template and made no revenue for the company. What a shame that innovative and creative design, from local designers, no longer exists within JP to generate income from advertisers; it all looks very run of the mill. But still, well done winners.

    Report this comment

    Like this comment(1)
  • May 3, 2016 at 11:22 am

    Good to see that the work of the Great Content and Group Templates team has been recognised.

    Report this comment

    Like this comment(1)
  • May 3, 2016 at 11:26 am

    What is this please?

    Story of the Year

    The Shoreham Airshow Crash – Sussex team (?????)

    Report this comment

    Like this comment(2)
  • May 3, 2016 at 11:46 am

    And in the Dick Minim Awards – Best Ever Of All Time Industry Performer… Dick Minim! Hey, thanks. I’d just like to thank my remote ancestors in what we now call the Rift Valley for starting it all off, my… (Minim drones on for another three hours, audience flees to pub).

    Report this comment

    Like this comment(1)