AddThis SmartLayers

Regional Press Awards are now open for entries

The Society of Editors Regional Press Awards – celebrating the best of UK regional journalism in 2015 – are now open for entries.

The awards, organised by the Society of Editors on behalf of the industry, will be handed out at a celebratory lunch to be held at the Marriott, Grosvenor Square Hotel in London on 20 May.

Regional newspapers and their journalists will be able to register for and enter the awards at, with the entry price pegged at £25 for the fifth successive year.

There are 22 categories to choose from ranging from the HTFP-sponsored Young Journalist of the Year prize to the four Newspaper of the Year prizes for weekly, daily and Sunday newspapers.  Full details can be found on the website.


The awards are made possible by the sponsorship of UK Power Networks and are held in association with HoldtheFrontPage, the Press Association and the News Media Association.

They are designed to celebrate regional and local journalism both in print and online and will include the Making a Difference – People’s Choice public vote for the best local newspaper campaign of 2015, organised by Local Media Works for Local Newspaper Week.

Paul Horrocks, SoE President in 2007 and former editor of the Manchester Evening News will again chair the judges, with shortlists to be published in mid-April.

Revenue generated by entry fees, table sales and sponsorship will pay for the not-for-profit awards programme and help to support the Journalists’ Charity.

Society of Editors Executive Director, Bob Satchwell, said: “Regional newspapers in 2015 again demonstrated the terrific journalism they provide for their readers in terms of investigations, campaigns and good news stories that helped their readers and reflected the communities they serve.

“The awards identify and celebrate the top class achievements and best work of journalists and hundreds of newspapers across the country in print and on innovative digital platforms.”

Lynne Anderson, Deputy Chief Executive at the News Media Association said: “Local media performs an essential democratic role in our society by holding authority to account and giving communities a powerful voice. The awards are an excellent platform for this important work to be recognised and celebrated.”

HoldtheFrontPage publisher Paul Linford added:  “Highlighting the good work done by regional press journalists will always be a key objective of the site and as such we are delighted to continue our association with the Regional Press Awards and help make them a success.”

The 22 awards categories are as follows:

Individual awards

Young Journalist of the Year
Business and Finance Journalist of the Year
Specialist Writer of the Year
Feature Writer of the Year
Columnist of the Year
Weekly Sports Journalist of the Year
Daily/Sunday Sports Journalist of the Year
Weekly Reporter of the Year
Daily Sunday Reporter of the Year
Weekly Photographer of the Year
Daily/Sunday Photographer of the Year
Designer of the Year

Team awards

Supplement of the Year
Front Page of the Year

Special awards

Scoop of the Year
Campaign of the Year
Website of the Year
The Digital Award
Journalist’s Charity Award

Judges awards

Weekly Newspaper (below 20,000 circulation)
Weekly Newspaper (above 20,000)
Daily/Sunday Newspaper (below 20,000)
Daily/Sunday Newspaper (above 20,000)


You can follow all replies to this entry through the comments feed.
  • February 4, 2016 at 6:35 pm

    Is it true that the Archant EDP has won ‘best regional newspaper in the country’ in the ‘ self proclaimed plaudits on Twitter category ?

    Report this comment

    Like this comment(2)
  • February 5, 2016 at 10:26 am

    Lot of categories. Is there anyone left to enter them?

    Report this comment

    Like this comment(9)