AddThis SmartLayers

Shortlist announced for revived Wales Media Awards

Huw EdwardsThe shortlists for the Journalists’ Charity Wales Media Awards 2015 have been announced.

Trinity Mirror-owned Media Wales, which publishes titles including the Western Mail and South Wales Echo, features strongly in the list – with no less than 20 nominations for its titles, journalists and associated freelancers.

The Western Mail, South Wales Argus and Flintshire Leader will battle it out for the Daily Newspaper of the Year title, while the County Times, Western Telegraph and Cambrian News will fight for its weekly counterpart.

The final winners will be announced at a gala dinner in Cardiff on Thursday 19 March, to be hosted by the BBC’s Huw Edwards, pictured above left.

The judges, chaired by Jonathan Grun, editor-in-chief of the Press Association, made their selections from over 150 entries from all media sectors across Wales.

The wards have been revived for 2015 after a break of several years.

Said Jonathan: “The revival of the Wales Media Awards has shown the strength of Welsh journalism and the vital role it plays in the life of Wales. Choosing the shortlists has been a tremendously difficult job.

“Young journalists are clearly learning their craft in a news rich environment in Wales and we were impressed by the quality and enthusiasm of the entrants for that award.

“Sports reporting has always been a great strength in Wales and the judges have had a particularly difficult task in selecting this shortlist.

“Now that we have shortlists for the awards, we will start the job of choosing winners. Having seen the quality of entries already, this will be great fun – and very difficult. I look forward to celebrating the best in Welsh journalism.”

The full shortlist is as follows:

News Reporter of the Year (Print)
– Ciaran Jones, Media Wales
– Liz Perkins, South Wales Evening Post
– Martin Shipton, Media Wales

TV News Reporter of the Year
– Aled Huw, Newyddion 9
– BBC Cymru Wales for S4C
– Carl Edwards, ITV Cymru Wales
– Huw Thomas, BBC Wales

Radio News Reporter of the Year
– Alun Thomas, BBC Radio Cymru
– David Grundy, BBC Radio Wales
– Lauren Jones, Global’s Wales Newsroom

Online News Reporter of the Year
– Ciaran Jones, Media Wales
– Sally Williams, Media Wales

Political Reporter of the Year
– David Williamson, Media Wales
– Martin Shipton, Media Wales
– Owain Phillips, ITV Cymru Wales

Business Reporter of the Year
– Douglas Friedli, Wales Business Insider
– Brian Meechan, BBC Cymru Wales

Feature Writer of the Year
– Carolyn Hitt, freelance for The Western Mail
– David Owens, Media Wales
– Kirstie McCrum, Media Wales

Sports Reporter of the Year
– Chris Wathan, Media Wales
– Delme Parfitt, Media Wales
– Paul Abbandonato, Media Wales
– Simon Thomas, Media Wales
– Steve Tucker, Media Wales

Young Journalist of the Year
– Ciaran Jones, Media Wales
– Gareth Hill, Caerphilly Observer
– Geraint Thomas, BBC Radio Cymru

Photographer of the Year
– Craig Colville, Rhyl Journal and Evening Leader
– Mike Lewis, South Wales Argus
Richard Williams, Media Wales

Daily Newspaper of the Year
– Western Mail
– South Wales Argus
– Flintshire Leader

Weekly Newspaper of the Year
– County Times
– Western Telegraph
– Cambrian News

Community Outlet of the Year
– Caerphilly Observer
Port Talbot Magnet

News Website of the Year
– South Wales Argus
– Wales Online
-South Wales Evening Post
– BBC Cymru (Cymru Fyw)

TV Programme of the Year
– Wales This Week
– Wales at Six
– Newyddion 9

Radio Programme of the Year
– Post Cyntaf
– Good Morning Wales

Scoop of the Year
– Ciaran Jones, Media Wales
– Gareth Evans, Western Mail
– Gareth Hill and Richard Gurner, Caerphilly Observer