AddThis SmartLayers

Scottish Press Awards winners unveiled

Winners of the annual Scottish Press Awards were unveiled at a ceremony last night with the Daily Record and Sunday Mail landing five accolades.

Winners of major individual awards also included Paul Hutcheon of the Sunday Herald, who was named Journalist and Political Journalist of the Year, while the paper’s David Pratt was named Feature Writer of the Year.

The Sunday Mail took the award of Newspaper of the Year for its blend of news, campaigning journalism and features.

The Record’s Keith Jackson won the Sports News Writer of the Year for the second year in a row and the Record also won the Campaign of the Year for Its Stop the Danger Dogs.

Russell Findlay and Billy Briggs of the Sunday Mail won the Scoop of the Year for Assad’s Little Helper with the paper’s Lauren Crooks winning the Reporter of the Year title.

Weekly Newspaper of the Year went to the Ayrshire Post.

Other winners included: Ian MacNicol [Sports Photographer of the Year]; Alan Simpson [News Photographer] Brian Adcock [Cartoonist]; Anthony Joseph, Aberdeen Evening Express [Young Journalist]; Aidan Smith, The Scotsman [Arts/Entertainment Journalist of the Year]; A Lifetime Achievement award was presented to former Daily Mail editor Chris Williams and the Sunday Mail won Newspaper of the Year.

The event took place  at Glasgow’s Radisson Blu Hotel.

For more go to: