AddThis SmartLayers

London and South of England awards open for entries

The EDF Energy London and South of England Media Awards 2014 are open for entries from today.

Held in association with HoldtheFrontPage, the awards are now in their tenth year and aim to honour the best in journalism across Berkshire, Dorset, Hampshire, Kent, Sussex, Surrey and the wider London area, as bounded by the M25.

All material published between 1 July 2013 – 16 July 2014 is eligible for the awards and the deadline for entries is 5pm on Friday 29 August.

You can download the entry form HERE and the guidelines HERE.

Individual award winners receive a £100 cheque, certificate and trophy, and all those shortlisted, along with their guests, will be invited to a presentation ceremony courtesy of EDF Energy.

Tim McCoy, EDF Energy’s Head of Media Relations, said: “We’re delighted to be celebrating the 10th anniversary of the media awards and recognising the very best journalism in London and the South of England.”

Last year’s winners included the Bournemouth Echo, which was named Daily Newspaper of the Year, the Croydon Advertiser, for Weekly Newspaper of the Year, and The Argus, for best community campaign.

There are 20 categories in all to choose from, covering daily and weekly newspapers, online news sites, radio and television broadcasters as follows:

Print Journalist of the Year (Daily)
Print Journalist of the Year (Weekly)
Radio Journalist of the Year
Television Journalist of the Year
Newcomer of the Year
Feature Writer of the Year
News Photographer of the Year
Designer of the Year
Sports Journalist of the Year
Digital Journalist of the Year
Specialist Journalist of the Year
Columnist of the Year
Daily Newspaper of the Year
Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Paid-for)
Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Free)
Radio News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year
Television News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year
Website of the Year
Front Page of the Year
Community Campaign of the Year

Entrants can submit work for as many categories as they wish but each must be accompanied by a separate entry form and approved by their editor.

Entries together with any queries about the awards should be emailed to by 5pm Friday 29 August.

Weekly and Daily Newspaper of the Year entries should be posted to: EDF Energy Media Awards, c/o Astley Media, 6 Northernhay House, Exeter, EX43QJ.

Broadcast entries can be emailed (e.g. through file-sharing services like WeTransfer or Dropbox) or posted to the above address on disk.