AddThis SmartLayers

EDF Energy Awards celebrate ten-year milestone

The EDF Energy South West Media Awards 2014 open for entries today as the event enters its tenth year.

Held in association with HoldtheFrontPage, the 20 categories cover newspapers, radio, television and online journalism.

The awards, first launched in 2005, recognise the best journalism across Bath, Bristol, Cornwall, Devon, Gloucestershire, Somerset and Wiltshire.

Still free-to-enter, individual award winners will receive a £100 cheque, certificate and trophy, with all those shortlisted invited to an awards ceremony in June.

Andrew Brown, Brand, Sustainability & External Communications Director at EDF Energy, said:  “We are delighted to launch the 10th annual EDF Energy South West Media Awards.

“Media across the South West have got right behind the awards since they began in 2005, and we’ve had well over 2000 entries in that time.

“They continue to recognise the breadth and strength of regional journalism across the region, and I’m sure this year will be no exception.”

Paul Linford, publisher of HoldtheFrontPage, added:  “We are proud to have been associated with these awards over the past nine years and grateful for the continued support and sponsorship of EDF Energy over that period.”

Only material published between 20 March 2013 and 19 March 2014 will be eligible for the awards and the deadline for entries is 5pm, Friday 25 April 2014.

Click here for the entry guidelines and download and complete the entry form here.

Completed entry forms, along with three samples of work, attached as files, should be sent to

Entrants can submit work for as many categories as they wish but each entry must be accompanied by a separate entry form and approved by their editor or senior editorial executive.

If you have any questions or queries about the awards, email

The full list of categories is as follows:

Print Journalist of the Year (Daily)
Print Journalist of the Year (Weekly)
Radio Journalist of the Year
Television Journalist of the Year
Newcomer of the Year
Feature Writer of the Year
News Photographer of the Year
Designer of the Year
Sports Journalist of the Year
Digital Journalist of the Year
Specialist Journalist of the Year
Columnist of the Year
Daily Newspaper of the Year
Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Paid-for)
Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Free)
Radio News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year
Television News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year
Website of the Year
Front Page of the Year
Community Campaign of the Year