AddThis SmartLayers

Birmingham and Derby dailies head Midlands shortlist

The Birmingham Mail and the Derby Telegraph head the list of nominations for this year’s Midlands Media Awards as the shortlist is published in full today.

This year’s awards will be handed out in a ceremony at Villa Park, Birmingham on Thursday 5 June.

Leading the way in the race for nominations is the Mail with 18 closely followed by the Telegraph with 17.

Both titles will also be going head-to-head in the Newspaper of the Year category, which sees last year’s winner, the Lincolnshire Echo, among eight competing for the accolade.

The awards aim to honour the achievements of journalists, bloggers and photographers across the East and West Midlands.

They are organised on behalf of Birmingham Press Club by Cloud 9 Event Management and sponsored by Birmingham Airport with further support from Barclays, Birmingham City University, Bournville College, Digital Imaging, Drayton Manor Theme Park, Ember Television and Staffordshire University.

The full list of nominations is as follows:

Blogger of the Year

Lula Belle, Glamour in the Country
Paul Dale, The Chamberlain Files
John Duckers, duckersanddiving
Sue Greenwood, What Worked, What Didn’t
John Hess, BBC East Midlands
Lewis Pacelli & Andy Taylor, DownThe18th

Business Journalist of the Year

Oliver Astley, Derby Telegraph
Graeme Brown, Birmingham Post
Jon Griffin, Birmingham Mail
Robin Johnson, Derby Telegraph
Duncan Tift,

Campaign of the Year

Mark Drew, Shropshire Star
Siobhan Harrison, BBC Coventry & Warwickshire
Zena Hawley, Derby Telegraph
Caroline Jones, Derby Telegraph
Keith Perry, Coventry Telegraph
Gary Phelps, Sutton Coldfield Observer
Sharon Simcock, BBC WM 95.6
Cara Simpson, Coventry Telegraph

Columnist of the Year

Steve Chilton, Coventry Telegraph
Andy Coyne,
Neil Elkes, Birmingham Post
Jon Griffin, Birmingham Mail
Carl Jones, Shropshire Star
Daniel Wainwright, Express & Star

Feature Writer of the Year

Mary Griffin, Birmingham Mail
Justine Halifax, Birmingham Mail
Elizabeth Joyce, Express & Star
Jennifer Scott, BBC Online West Midlands
Cara Simpson, Coventry Telegraph

Headline of the Year

Birmingham Mail, So Here It Is, Merry Klitschkos!, Richard Jackson
Black County Bugle, Has Dudley Council Lost the Plot?, John Butterworth
Derby Telegraph, That’s Right, a DJ Saved My Life!, Jane McFarlane
TheBusinessDesk, Rosso E Nero’s Waiting, Serving Italian, Duncan Tift
Worksop Guardian, Sex, Drugs and Toilet Roll!, Ben Green

Journalist of the Year

Katy Hallam, Birmingham Mail
Zena Hawley, Derby Telegraph
Martin Naylor, Derby Telegraph
Jeanette Oldham, Birmingham Mail
John Scott, Express & Star
Tim Spiers, Express & Star

Magazine of the Year

artsbeat Magazine
Birmingham Living
Taste the Seasons
The Student Guide

Newcomer/Student of the Year

Peter Blackburn, Nottingham Post
Emma Burrows, ITV News Central
Hannah Gilbey, Lincolnshire Echo
Sophie Madden, Shropshire Star

Newspaper of the Year

Birmingham Mail
Birmingham Post
Derby Telegraph
Express & Star
Lincolnshire Echo
Shropshire Star
Sunday Mercury
Worcester News

News Photo of the Year

Jonathan Barry, Worcester News
Anna Draper, Lincolnshire Echo
Alex Hannam, Leicester Mercury
Will Johnston, Leicester Mercury
Tim Sturgess, Express & Star
Victoria Wilcox, Derby Telegraph
Nick Wilkinson, BPM Media

News Reporter of the Year (Daily)

Alexander Britton, Nottingham Post
Katy Hallam, Birmingham Mail
Chris Mallett, Derby Telegraph
Nick McCarthy, Birmingham Mail
Jeanette Oldham, Birmingham Mail
Cara Simpson, Coventry Telegraph

News Reporter of the Year (Weekly)

Graeme Brown, Birmingham Post
Neil Elkes, Birmingham Post
Adam Smith, Halesowen News

News Website of the Year

BBC Online East Midlands
BBC Online West Midlands
Birmingham Mail
Boston Standard
ITV News Central
The Lincolnite

Public Choice

Birmingham Post
Dine Birmingham
ITV News Central
Takeover Radio
The Hinckley Times

Radio Journalist of the Year

Qasa Alom, BBC Inside Out WM
Louise Eaton, Free Radio
Adrian Goldberg, BBC WM 95.6
Sian Grzeszczyk, BBC Coventry & Warwickshire
Steve Hermon, BBC WM 95.6
Alex Hulse, Free Radio

Scoop of the Year

Qasa Alom, BBC Inside Out WM
Neil Elkes, Birmingham Mail
Jon Griffin, Birmingham Mail
Zena Hawley, Derby Telegraph
Dominic Howell, Nottingham Post
Jeanette Oldham, Birmingham Mail
Harriet Robinson, The Hinckley Times

Sports Journalist of the Year

Michael Beardmore, Central Independent News and Media
Brian Dick, Birmingham Mail
Steve Nicholson, Derby Telegraph
John Pakey, Lincolnshire Echo
Martin Swain, Express & Star

Sports Photographer of the Year

Alex Cantrill-Jones, Derby Telegraph
Anna Draper, Lincolnshire Echo
Will Johnston, Leicester Mercury
Mike Sewell, Leicester Mercury
Lucy Shaw, Derby Telegraph
Victoria Wilcox, Derby Telegraph

Supplement of the Year

Birmingham at War 1914-1918, Birmingham Mail & Sunday Mercury
Birmingham’s Hidden Spaces, Birmingham Post
Past to Present, Lincolnshire Echo
Sleep in Heaven, Cannock Chase, Birmingham Mail
The Ticket, Shropshire Star
Weekend, Express & Star

Television Journalist of the Year

Jeremy Ball, BBC East Midlands
Andy Bevan, ITV News Central
Victoria Davies, ITV News Central
Mark Gough, ITV News Central
Sian Grzeszczyk, BBC Coventry & Warwickshire
Keith Wilkinson, ITV News Central

The Tony Flanagan Award for News Photography

Anna Draper, Lincolnshire Echo
Adam Fradgley, Exposure Photography
Ian Hodgkinson, Derby Telegraph
Will Johnston, Leicester Mercury
Darren Quinton, Birmingham Post and Mail
Lucy Shaw, Derby Telegraph
Tim Thursfield, Express & Star


You can follow all replies to this entry through the comments feed.
  • May 2, 2014 at 9:17 am

    Congratulations to Harriet Robinson for her excellent Scoop of the Year nomination! Best of luck!

    Report this comment

    Like this comment(0)
  • May 2, 2014 at 6:56 pm

    Congratulations Sophie Madden on your nomination and thank you for the coverage for our Charity and the work that we do.

    Report this comment

    Like this comment(0)