AddThis SmartLayers

Trinity Mirror creates three new publishing regions

Trinity Mirror has unveiled a new regional structure which will see its North-East and Scottish titles brought under a single management.

Denise Wes, previously commercial director of the Daily Record, is to head up new Scotland and North East publishing unit which will include North East titles the Newcastle Evening Chronicle, Teesside Evening Gazette and The Journal.

Previously these were part of an unwieldy division under Simon Edgley which stretched from the Scottish borders to South East England, via Birmingham and Coventry.

Simon retains responsibility for the group’s Midlands and Southern titles and now takes on additional responsibility for South Wales.   The North Wales and North West titles continue to report to Steve Anderson-Dixon.

The changes also see the creation of a single Publishing Operations Group which includes senior executives from both the national and regional divisions.

Regional editorial director Neil Benson and Scottish editorial director Alan Rennie will sit on the group alongside Daily Mirror and Sunday Mirror editor-in-chief Lloyd Embley.

Chief operating officer Mark Hollinshead, who will chair the group, said:  “I am delighted to outline the new unified management structure for One Trinity Mirror which will ensure we have the best team in place, in the right markets, to help us achieve our ambitions to grow revenues, and accelerate our plans for all our digital and newspaper brands.

“I believe we now have in place a more cohesive publishing structure that brings editorial to the heart of the decision making process. This move will ultimately benefit our journalism, our readers and our advertisers.”

The move follows new chief executive Simon Fox’s decision last week to bring the group’s national and regional divisions together under Mark, resulting in the departure of regionals boss Georgina Harvey.

The full list of Publishing Operations Group members is Mark Hollinhsead (Chair), Steve Anderson-Dixon, Simon Edgley, Denise West, Paula Scott, Ian Dowds, David Emin, Mark Mountford, Lesley Sommerville, Lloyd Embley, Neil Benson and Allan Rennie.