AddThis SmartLayers

Media awards launch new categories in 10th year

An awards scheme which recognises the best journalism in its region has launched two new categories as it celebrates its 10th anniversary.

Organisers of the 2011 Midlands Media Awards have introduced the journalist of the year and the photograph of the year categories for its ceremony in March.

The awards are run by the Birmingham Press Club for journalists across the Midlands and are now open for entries, with a deadline of 5 February.

Last year, regional dailies in the East Midlands beat their counterparts in the West as the Nottingham Post, Derby Telegraph and Leicester Mercury each picked up three awards.

This year’s awards ceremony takes place on 10 March at Edgbaston Cricket Ground and organisers hope there will be more than 300 entries.

There are 20 categories and winners will receive a cash prize and a certificate.

To download an application form, visit

One comment

You can follow all replies to this entry through the comments feed.
  • January 6, 2011 at 11:21 am

    more ego massaging to mask lousy pay and staff levels. Good luck to those who enter though.

    Report this comment

    Like this comment(0)