AddThis SmartLayers

Guardian Student Media Awards open for entries

An awards scheme which aims to recognise the best student journalists in the UK has launched for entries.

The Guardian Student Media Awards has opened for entries for student journalists, editors, photographers and bloggers from universities across the UK.

They can enter the awards, which are now in their 33rd year, in nine categories including Publication of the Year, Reporter of the Year and Digital Journalist of the Year.

The judging panel includes Guardian News & Media editor-in-chief Alan Rusbridger, author, journalist and broadcaster Sarfraz Manzoor, Observer features writer Miranda Sawyer, NME editor Krissi Murison, Channel 4 News broadcaster Jon Snow, blogger Laurie Penny and journalist and activist Heather Brooke.

Winners of each award will be given two weeks of work experience at the Guardian, while runners-up will have one week.

The categories are:

  • Publication of the year
  • Website of the year
  • Reporter of the year
  • Feature writer of the year
  • Columnist of the year
  • Critic of the year (sponsored by NME)
  • Photographer of the year
  • Digital Journalist of the year
  • Broadcast Journalist of the yearFor information on how to enter, visit the awards website.