AddThis SmartLayers

Three regional editors join industry watchdog

Three regional newspaper editors have today been named as new members of the Press Complaint’s Commission’s Editors’ Code of Practice Committee.

Colin Grant, editor-in-chief of Iliffe News and Media East, Mike Sassi, editor-in-chief of Stafforshire Sentinel News and Media, and Damian Bates, editor of the Evening Express, Aberdeen, have all joined the influential body which reviews the industry’s voluntary code of standards.

The trio replace three other regional editorial figures who are stepping down from the committee.

They are Adrian Faber, editor of the Express and Star, Wolverhampton, Doug Melloy, editor of the Rotherham and South Yorkshire Advertiser, and David Pollington, who recently retired as editor of the Sunday Post, Dundee.

Code committee chairman and Daily Mail editor Paul Dacre said: “The Code’s authority within the industry relies on the quality and range and depth of experience of Code committee members.

“Colin Grant, Mike Sassi and Damian Bates represent the best traditions of the regional press and their experience will be invaluable in maintaining a Code that commands respect both inside and outside the industry. I’m very pleased to have them on board.”

Both Mr Grant and Mr Sassi were nominated by the Newspaper Society, while Mr Bates was nominated by the Scottish Newspaper Society.

Other regional press figures on the committee include Neil Benson, editorial director of Trinity Mirror Regionals, Ian Murray, editor of the Southern Evening Echo, and Hannah Walker, editor of the South London Press.