AddThis SmartLayers

Post leads the way in Midlands awards shortlist

The Nottingham Post leads the way in nominations for the 2010 Midlands Media Awards after the shortlist was unveiled today.

The Northcliffe-owned title, which recently dropped the ‘evening’ from its masthead, has chalked up 12 nominations across the 21 categories for the 13 May event

Also scoring highly are the Sunday Mercury with 11 and Derby Telegraph with ten.

To purchase tickets for next month’s ceremony at the ICC Birmingham, contact Denise Mickle at Ed James PR on 07973 710504 or email

The full shortlist is as follows:

News Reporter of the Year (Daily)

Jeanette Oldham – Sunday Mercury
Kate Liptrot – Derby Telegraph
Nick McCarthy – Birmingham Mail
Les Reid – Coventry Telegraph
Charles Walker – Nottingham Post

News Reporter of the Year (Weekly)

Sam Dimmer – Hinckley Times
Martin Bagot – Warwick Times
Ed Stilliard – The Hinckley Times
Priya Mistry – Coventry Times
Sandish Shoker – Coventry Times

Photographer of the Year (Regional)

Tim Easthope – BPM Media
Matthew Alexander – Nottingham Post
Iain Findlay – BPM Media
Mike Sewell – Leicester Mercury
Dan Matthams – Nottingham Post
Jason Skarratt – BPM Media

Photographer of the Year (Weekly)

Owen Strudwick- Hinckley Times
Anne Shelley – Mansfield Chad
Marisa Cashill – Derbyshire Times
Angela Ward – Mansfield Chad
Roger Grayson- North Notts Newspapers

Sports Photographer of the Year

Tim Sturgess – Express & Star
Dan Matthams – Nottingham Post
Katherine Burnett – Derby Telegraph
Mike Sewell – Leicester Mercury
Tim Easthope –BPM Media

The Trevor Roberts Award

Laura Page – Derby Telegraph
Jemma Cox – Nottingham Post

Sports Journalist of the Year

Derek Brown – Coventry Telegraph
Mat Kendrick – BPM Media
James Pallatt – Nottingham Post
Steve Nicholson – Derby Telegraph
Colin Tattum –BPM Media

Feature Writer of the Year

Erik Petersen – Nottingham Post
Zoe Chamberlain – Sunday Mercury
Wendy Roberts – Derby Telegraph
Mary Griffin – Coventry Telegraph
Anuji Varma – Sunday Mercury

Newcomer of the Year

Jonny Greatrex – Sunday Mercury
Anna Blackaby – Birmingham Post
Delia Monk – Nottingham Post
Jonny Birkin – Derby Telegraph
Martin Bagot – Warwick Times

Business Journalist of the Year

Jon Griffin – Birmingham Mail
Anna Blackaby – Birmingham Post
Robin Johnson – Derby Telegraph

Magazine of the Year

Nottinghamshire Today – Jeremy Lewis
The Derbyshire – Jill Galone
Staffordshire Life- Louise Elliott

Scoop of the Year

Charles Walker – Nottingham Post
Les Reid – Coventry Telegraph
Richard Vernalls – Worcester News
Tom Scotney – Birmingham Post
Jeanette Oldham – Sunday Mercury

TV/Radio Journalist of the Year

Jonathan Gibson – ITV
Juliet Spare – Smooth Radio
Tom Hourigan – Mercia FM

Headline of the Year

Rob Madill – Coventry Telegraph
Paul Cole – Sunday Mercury
Yvette Caster – Malvern Gazette
Tony Larner – Sunday Mercury
Steve Wollaston – Sunday Mercury

Columnist of the Year

Pete Pheasant – Derby Telegraph
Paul Dale – Birmingham Post
George Tyndale – Sunday Mercury
Adam Wakelin – Leicester Mercury
Mike Lockley – Sunday Mercury

Online Journalist of the Year

Jonny Greatrex – Sunday Mercury
Steve Wollaston – BPM Media
Ross Hawkes – The Lichfield Blog
Richard Lutz – The Stirrer
Michael Burrows – Beacon Radio

Community Campaign of the Year

Cara Simpson – Coventry Telegraph
Claire Duffin – Derby Telegraph
Gemma Peplow – Leicester Mercury
Catherine Lillington – Birmingham Mail
Jennifer Scott – Nottingham Post
Kate Rock – The Goodyear Dunlop Community Programme

Digital Innovation Award

The Boar – University of Warwick – Ben Firshman
Mel Hancock – Heart FM
Birmingham City Council –
It’s All About Coventry – Ben Glass – Sue Greenwood

Student Journalist of the Year

Luke Hatfield – Staffordshire University
Stuart Hodge – Staffordshire University
Ben Lowe – Staffordshire University
Georgina Campbell – Birmingham City University
Rebecca Johnson – Nottingham Trent University

Online Campaign – People’s Choice Award

Winner to be announced on the night of the Awards

Newspaper of the Year

Sunday Mercury – Paul Cole
Hinckley Times – Simon Holden
Birmingham Post – Alun Thorne
Nottingham Post – Malcolm Pheby
Worcester News – Kevin Ward


Kevan Smythe (29/04/2010 12:38:49)
Who has been shortlisted in the other areas then?

Fence hopper (30/04/2010 12:39:51)
As usual these awards won’t come down to who has done the best work but more to who some old suits think best fits their view of the world.