AddThis SmartLayers

Winners' gallery from the EDF Energy Awards

The finest in press and broadcasting journalism talent was honoured yesterday in Plymouth at the EDF Energy South West Media Awards, run in association with HoldtheFrontPage.

Among the winners were Exeter title the Express and Echo, crowned daily newspaper of the year and Tom Bevan, who picked up his third weekly journalist crown.

  • See the full list of award winners here.
  • And click through to read what the judges said.
  • Cheques, trophies and certificates were handed out to winners by Humphrey Cadoux-Hudson, MD of new nuclear build with EDF, and paralympic swimmer Liz Johnson.

    Photos courtesy of John Connor Press Associates.

  • Print Journalist of the Year (Daily) – Eleanor Gregson, Express and Echo

  • Print Journalist of the Year (Weekly) – Tom Bevan, Western Gazette

  • Newcomer of the Year – Joint Winners
    Jeremy Grimaldi, Swindon Advertiser and Chloe Hubbard, North Devon Journal

  • Daily Newspaper of the Year – Express and Echo, Exeter. Editor Marc Astley, second left, holds the award

  • Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Paid-for) – Tiverton Gazette. Head of content James Miller, second left, is joined by reporters David Shepherd and Richard Wevill

  • Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Free) – Clevedon Mercury

  • Front Page of the Year – Western Morning News, How could it come to this? Photographer Emily Whitfield-Wicks is joined on the stage by deputy editor Philip Bowern

  • Website of the Year – Express and Echo: Kellow’s Bootlaces. Web editor Sarah Elliot, second left, clutches the winners’ certificate

  • Feature Writer of the Year – Jaine Blackman, Swindon Advertiser

  • Designer of the Year – Michelle Tompkins, Swindon Advertiser

  • Columnist of the Year – Hugh Dixon, Bath Chronicle

  • News Photographer of the Year – Paul Nicholls, Gloucestershire Media

  • Sports Journalist of the Year – Jon Lewis, Express and Echo

  • Business Journalist of the Year – Jonathan Gibson, ITV Westcountry

  • Community Campaign of the Year – Express and Echo, We Care. Editor Marc Astley, second left, is pictured with some of the carers who took part in the campaign

  • Environmental Journalist of the Year – Anne Byrne, Express and Echo

  • Television Journalist of the Year – Matthew Hill, BBC West

  • TV News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year – BBC West, Private Harry Patch

  • Radio Journalist of the Year – Nigel Dando, BBC Radio Bristol

  • Radio News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year – BBC Radio Bristol, Drive

  • All the South West Media Awards winners