AddThis SmartLayers

Top students and trainees named in awards shortlist

The shortlist for the second annual Excellence in Journalism Awards has been revealed.

The scheme is run by the National Council for the Training of Journalists and celebrates the best students on NCTJ-accredited courses and trainees or recently-qualified senior reporters with less than two years’ experience.

There are ten awards over five categories: news, sports, top scoop/exclusive, features and images.

Students from Sheffield College and News Associates figure prominently in the shortlist, while reporters from the Derby Telegraph and Plymouth daily The Herald also have a strong showing from this year’s 115 entries.

Among the judging panel were Gloucestershire Echo editor Kevan Blackadder, award-winning sports Jon Colman from the Cumberland News and Daily Sport editor Murray Morse.

Times picture editor and judge Paul Sanders said: “It should be noted that all the entrants show a very professional and considered approach to their work.

“The fact that several of the entrants have work published widely in national titles shows they are of the highest calibre and have a good future ahead of them. The standard was much better than last year.”

Winners will be invited to the Society of Editors conference next month where they will pick up their awards from BBC director of news Helen Boaden.

She will also be presenting three other NCTJ awards for best student journalist, photographer and reporter.

The full shortlist is below:

News Journalism

Arron Hendy and Miriam Phillips, Dorset Echo
Chris Jones, Derby Telegraph

Tim Fletcher, City of Wolverhampton College
Martin George, Kingston University
Louise Robertson, News Associates London

Sports Journalism

Michael Bailey, Norwich Evening News
Graham Britton, Exmouth Journal
David Jordan, Grimsby Telegraph

Thomas Chick, News Associates Manchester
Nick Hartwell and George Scott, News Associates London

Top Scoop/Exclusive

Jo Charlton, Croydon Advertiser
Cherie Rose Gordon and Jane Onyanga-Omara, The Herald, Plymouth

Laurey Buckland, The Sheffield College, Norton
Juliet Conway, Brighton Journalist Works
Clare Shankleman, Cardiff University


Jonny Birkin, Derby Telegraph
Emily Koch, Bristol Evening Post
Helen Steel, The Gazette, Blackpool

Tim Fletcher, City of Wolverhampton College
William Nichols, Brunel University
Harriet Webster, NoSWeat Journalism Training


Hannah Kinver, South Wales Evening Post
Leah McLaren, Derby Telegraph

Bethany Clarke and Rebecca McKevitt, The Sheffield College, Norton