AddThis SmartLayers

Quartet of EDF Energy Awards for Hampshire daily

The Southern Daily Echo scooped the big prizes at the annual EDF Energy London and South of England Media Awards, run in association with

More than 200 regional journalists and their guests gathered at The Globe Theatre, on London’s South Bank yesterday, to see the Southampton title crowned daily newspaper of the year.

Matt Smith was made daily reporter of the year, Simon Carr columnist of the year and Sally Churchward environmental journalist of the year to make it a quartet of gongs for the Newsquest paper.

Ed Cook from BBC Radio Kent was named radio journalist of the year for the third year in a row while the Gravesend and Dartford Messenger took paid-for weekly of the year and shared the campaigning award with the Surrey Advertiser.

Brighton daily The Argus made it a hat trick in the photographer, business journalist and feature writer categories, the Crawley News was named best free weekly for the second year running, Croydon Advertiser reporter Joanne Charlton was named best newcomer and ITV Meridian took home the two TV awards.

All winners were presented with trophies and certificates by Beijing Olympics gold medal rower Tom James, with individual winners also taking home a cheque for £100 each, courtesy of award sponsors EDF Energy.

Commenting on his paper’s victory in the daily newspaper of the year category, Southern Daily Echo editor Ian Murray said: “It’s fantastic news for the team, particularly in what has been a very challenging year in the newspaper industry. It reflects everyone’s hard work.”

Daily print journalist of the year Matt Smith added: “I was delighted to win in a tough category, and it was great that we topped it off with the newspaper of the year award.”

  • Read here what the judges had to say about our champions.
  • See some smiling faces in our winners’ gallery.

  • Here is the complete list of award winners and click through to see all the shortlisted nominees:

    Print Journalist of the Year (Daily)

    Matt Smith, Southern Daily Echo, Southampton

    Print Journalist of the Year (Weekly)

    Katie Davies, Hampstead and Highgate Express

    Newcomer of the Year

    Joanne Charlton, Croydon Advertiser

    Daily Newspaper of the Year

    Southern Daily Echo, Southampton

    Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Paid-for)

    Gravesend and Dartford Messenger

    Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Free)

    Crawley News

    Website of the Year

    Get Surrey (Surrey & Berkshire Media):

    Feature Writer of the Year

    Lisa Frascarelli, The Argus, Brighton

    Designer of the Year

    Graeme Windell, The News, Portsmouth

    Columnist of the Year

    Simon Carr, Southern Daily Echo, Southampton

    News Photographer of the Year

    Tony Wood, The Argus, Brighton

    Sports Journalist of the Year

    Sam Munnery, Crawley News

    Business Journalist of the Year

    Sam Thomson, The Argus, Brighton

    Community Campaign of the Year – Joint Winners

    Everyone Counts – Gravesend Messenger
    Bring Back Our Bus – Surrey Advertiser

    Environmental Journalist of the Year

    Sally Churchward, Southern Daily Echo, Southampton

    Television Journalist of the Year

    Derek Johnson, ITV Meridian

    Television News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year

    ITV Meridian Tonight Special – Justice for Hannah

    Radio Journalist of the Year

    Ed Cook, BBC Radio Kent

    Radio News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year

    Breakfast with John and Jules, BBC Radio Kent

  • There was no shortlist in the Front Page of the Year category. Click here to see the reasons why..
  • Comments

    Subbo (23/10/2009 11:04:32)
    Shame the Echo’s success is not matched by its dwindling circulation. But full marks to those winning journalists.