AddThis SmartLayers

Post could sweep board at media awards

The Yorkshire Post features heavily in the shortlist of a new media awards scheme for Yorkshire and The Humber regions.

The Johnston Press morning title is nominated eight times in the 02 Media Awards including Newspaper of the Year while hot on its heels is the Hull Daily Mail with five nominations.

Meanwhile the new media sector is represented by specialist business website The Business which gets two nominations.

It is the second set of media awards run by the telecommunications giant which launched a Cheshire and Merseyside scheme last April.

The judging panel included Society of Editors chairman Richard Catlow and Nicola Priest, editor of the Warrington Guardian which was named Newspaper of the Year in the Cheshire and Merseyside awards.

The awards ceremony will be held next Thursday at O2’s office in Leeds.

The full shortlist is:

Newspaper of the Year

Yorkshire Post
Worksop Guardian
Whitby Gazette
Hull Daily Mail

Reporter of the Year

Kevin Shoesmith, Hull Daily Mail
Charles Heslett, Yorkshire Evening Post
Sophie Hazan, Yorkshire Evening Post
Deborah Wain, Doncaster Free Press

Editorial Team of the Year

Community Newsletter
BBC Radio York Drive
Worksop Guardian
Halifax Evening Courier
Yorkshire Life

Digital Journalist of the Year

Joanna Hunter, Hull Daily Mail
David Behrens, Yorkshire Post
David Parkin, The Business

Feature Writer of the Year

Barry Gibson, Huddersfield Examiner
Tom Richmond, Yorkshire Post
Nick Ahad, Yorkshire Post
Jo Davison, The Star, Sheffield

Photographer of the Year

Jon Corken, Grimsby Telegraph
Simon Hulme, Yorkshire Post
Lucy Ray, Telegraph and Argus, Bradford
Garry Atkinson, The Press, York

Sports Journalist of the Year

Tom Richmond, Yorkshire Post
James Smailes, Hull Daily Mail
Nick Westby, Yorkshire Post

Young Journalist of the Year – Dailies

Adam Lovell, Hull Daily Mail
Joe Shute, Halifax Evening Courier
Selina Maycock, Scunthorpe Telegraph

Young Journalist of the Year – Weeklies

Kate Liptrot, Doncaster Free Press
Cherry Wilson, Rotherham Advertiser
Ashley Marshall, Harrogate Advertiser

Business Journalist of the Year

Greg Wright, Yorkshire Post
Laura Crothers, Scarborough Evening News
Anastasia Weiner, The Business

Broadcast Journalist of the year

Richard White, BBC Radio York
Mick Lunney, BBC Radio Sheffield
Maddii Lown, Minster FM


ken (07/01/2009 09:55:37)
YP nominations due more to the skill and professionalism of its journalists than to any input from JP. In fact they’ve done so well despite JP.

Realist (07/01/2009 10:42:44)
Media awards are just ego massaging. It is time they were scrapped. You get paid for the job(albeit badly). You do it as well as you can. Sometimes you might even enjoy it(harder now I admit).
Then you go home and get a real life.
End of story.
But congratulations to those who feel all this fluffy stuff matters.

John Stewart (13/01/2009 01:41:26)
It’s not so fluffy if it opens a door or two for you – as awards like these sometimes do. And a little recognition is no bad thing. No award scheme is perfect but it’s better to have them than not at all.