AddThis SmartLayers

Entries open for East of England Media Awards

The entry form is now online for the EDF Energy East of England Media Awards 2009, run in association with HoldtheFrontPage.

Whether you are a writer, photographer, presenter or broadcast journalist in the East of England region these are the awards for you.

The awards, now in their fifth year in the region, honour the best in journalism across the East of England, an area comprising Norfolk, Suffolk, Essex, Cambridgeshire and parts of Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire.

The most westerly towns in this region are Peterborough, Bedford and Aylesbury. The south of the region is bounded by the M25.

The entry form together with award criteria can be downloaded
now here, to be completed and returned by 4 December.

Entries must relate to material published between 9 November 2008 and 2 November 2009.

There are some new sections in the entry form designed to ensure that all entries are properly dated, so please make sure you add these details.

In addition, the form will need to be signed by a senior editorial executive – if your form is not signed, it may not go forward for judging.

Individual award winners will receive a £100 cheque, as well as a certificate and trophy, and all those shortlisted, along with their guests, will be invited to a celebration presentation event, courtesy of EDF Energy.

There are 20 categories to choose from, covering daily and weekly newspapers, magazines and broadcasters.

The judging panel is being selected by HoldtheFrontPage and will be made up of senior regional journalists and broadcasters.

The individual categories are:

Print Journalist of the Year (Daily)
Print Journalist of the Year (Weekly)
Radio Journalist of the Year
Television Journalist of the Year
Newcomer of the Year
Feature Writer of the Year
Designer of the Year
News Photographer of the Year
Sports Journalist of the Year
Business Journalist of the Year
Environmental Journalist of the Year
Columnist of the Year

Categories for newspapers and broadcasting companies comprise:

Daily Newspaper of the Year
Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Paid-for)
Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Free)
Front Page of the Year
Radio News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year
Television News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year
Website of the Year
Community Campaign of the Year

All entries must be received by 5pm on Friday, 4 December 2009.

Although in the past we have usually extended the deadline to help hard-pressed newsrooms, the proximity of the Christmas period this year means we may not be able to do this, so please make an extra effort to get all your entries to us on time.

Entries should be sent to:

Paul Linford
Northcliffe House
Meadow Road

  • Questions or queries about the awards or the event itself should be e-mailed to Paul Linford at HTFP or Becky Clark at EDF Energy.