AddThis SmartLayers

Amnesty International Media Awards open for entries

The 18th Amnesty International Media Awards are now open for entries.

The prize scheme recognises excellence in journalism that has made a significant contribution to the UK public’s greater awareness and understanding of human rights issues.

Among the prize categories are new media, photojournalism, periodicals and nations and regions.

Amnesty International UK director Kate Allen said: “By recognising excellence in human rights journalism, we recognise the invaluable work of the journalists who bring us these stories and the editors who commission them.

“By exposing injustice, they are helping to defend human rights around the world.”

Entries must have published or broadcast between 25 March 2008 and 2 March 2009.

The award categories are:

International TV and Radio
New media
Television documentary and docudrama
Television news
National newspapers
Periodicals, two awards – newspaper supplements and consumer magazines
Nations and regions: print or broadcast media in Wales, Northern Ireland, Scotland and the English regions
Gaby Rado Memorial Award: for a journalist covering human rights stories for less than five years.

  • The closing date for entries is 3 March – visit for more information and to enter.
  • Comments

    Chris Gaynor (20/01/2009 08:27:04)
    WHat about BLOGS? and citizen journalism. Or need I say more?