AddThis SmartLayers

Young journalists honoured in new awards scheme

The achievements of 14 promising young journalists have been recognised at the NCTJ Awards for Excellence in Journalism 2008.

The winners were announced at the Society of Editors Conference today by Joanne Butcher, chief executive of the National Council for the Training of Journalists.

Joanne said: “Excellence has always been at the heart of the NCTJ and the students and trainees receiving awards today have shown they have what it takes to shine in this competitive industry, where the need for excellence is greater than ever. They are names to be watched.”

Two of the awards went to trainees on the Derby Evening Telegraph which Joanne described as “a great training ground.”

Guardian editor Alan Rusbridger added: “I’m delighted to see the NCTJ launch these awards to celebrate the outstanding achievements of talented young journalists.

“They’ve all done extremely well to be here today and I look forward to watching their careers progress.”

The final judging panel included Steve Nelson, production editor at The Press, York, Guardian managing editor Chris Elliott and Bob Satchwell, executive director of the Society of Editors.

The judges said that the winning entries had stood out and grabbed their readers’ attention. Some were funny and all showed originality and imagination.

Two awards were handed out in each category – one to a student on an NCTJ-accredited course and the other to a trainee with less than two years experience.

The winners are:

News Reporter of the Year
Student: Naomi Loomes, City College Brighton & Hove
Trainee: Tessa Youens, Gravesend Messenger

Sports Reporter of the Year
Student: Steve Jones, News Associates/Sportsbeat Manchester
Trainee: Jonathan Jurejko, Doncaster Free Press

Scoop of the Year
Student: Steven Kelly, Brighton Journalist Works and Delia Monk, Lambeth College
Trainee: Ben Frampton, South Wales Argus

Feature Writer of the Year
Student: Paul Prowse, Nottingham Trent University
Trainee: Kelly Shorrock, Derby Evening Telegraph

Images of the Year
Student: Micha Theiner, Sheffield College
Trainee: Katherine Burnett, Derby Evening Telegraph

Performance award winners – Awarded to the highest achieving students and trainees in NCTJ examinations

NCTJ Student Journalist of the Year
Jennifer Smith, University of Sheffield

NCTJ Photographer of the Year
Adam Gerrard, South West News Service (formerly of the Derby Evening Telegraph)

NCTJ Reporter of the Year
Tarik Al Rasheed, Malvern Gazette

  • Air Race by Mica Theiner
    Student Images of the Year winner

  • American Diner by Katherine Burnett
    Trainee Images of the Year winner