AddThis SmartLayers

Shortlist announced for celebration of Scottish journalism

The shortlist for the 29th annual Scottish Press Awards has been announced.

There were over 350 entries with journalist team, news photographer and cartoonist of the year all attracting record entries, according to organisers.

This year’s event also features two new categories – sports scoop and magazine writer of the year.

The awards are run by the Scottish Daily Newspaper Society with this year’s ceremony being held in Glasgow on April 17.

ITV newsreader Fiona Armstrong will be handing out the prizes.

The 20 categories were open to journalists and photographers working for newspapers and magazines published in Scotland and Scottish-based journalists and photographers writing exclusively on Scottish affairs for non-Scottish publications.

George Reid, chair of the judging panel, said: “Scotland is one of the most competitive media markets in the world. That gives real importance to the Scottish Press Awards.

“This year’s entrants again demonstrate the incisive reporting, originality of thought and quality of writing which edge them ahead of the field.”

The shortlisted entries are:

Scoop of the Year
Paul Hutcheon, Sunday Herald – Labour leader tight-lipped on tax-exile’s donation
Peter MacMahon, The Scotsman – How a council boss cleaned up
Jack Mathieson, Daily Record – Breakthrough as Vicky DNA found in Tobin House
Marcello Mega, Scotland on Sunday – Not Guilty Nicholas Sharpe, Scottish Sun – A free Mone

Reporter of the Year
Lucy Adams, The Herald
Allan Caldwell, Mail on Sunday
Michael Howie, The Scotsman
Charles Lavery, Sunday Mail
Neil MacKay, Sunday Herald

Financial/Business Journalist of the Year
Simon Bain, The Herald
Greig Cameron, Business 7
William Lyons, Scotland on Sunday
Ian McConnell, The Herald
John Penman, The Sunday Times Scotland

Newspaper Feature Writer of the Year
Jonathan Brocklebank, Scottish Daily Mail
Allan Brown, The Sunday Times Scotland
John Bynorth, Sunday Herald
Maureen Culley, Scottish Daily Mail
Catherine Deveney, Scotland on Sunday
Neil MacKay, Sunday Herald

Magazine Writer of the Year
Torcuil Crichton, Sunday Herald Magazine
Catherine Deveney, Scotland on Sunday
Barry Didcock, Sunday Herald
Susan Swarbrick, The Herald Magazine
Michael Tierney, The Herald Magazine

Columnist of the Year
Ian Bell, Sunday Herald
Tom English, Scotland on Sunday
John Macleod, Scottish Daily Mail
Mandy Rhodes, Holyrood Magazine
Hardeep Singh Kohli, Scotland on Sunday

Campaign of the Year
Airdrie & Coatbridge Advertiser, Election Campaign Explodes
Daily Record, Living on a Knife Edge
Evening Express, Brain Unit Saved
Evening Times, War of Litter
The Courier, Bridge Tolls

Front Page of the Year
Daily Record, Fadiator
Evening Express, You Traitors
Sunday Mail, The Bombers
The Scotsman, 1707 For Better or Worse
The Scottish Sun, They’ll Have My Balls for This

Journalist Team of the Year
Daily Record, Doctor Deaths Lethal Payload
Scottish Daily Mail, Bombs: Two Doctors Held
Scottish Daily Mail, Freed to Murder
Scottish Sun, Doctor Deaths/Lair of Terror
Sunday Mail, The Bombers

Weekly Newspaper of the Year
Airdrie & Coatbridge Advertiser
Ayrshire Post
Dumfries & Galloway Standard
The Falkirk Herald
West Highland Free Press

Political Journalist of the Year
Paul Hutcheon, Sunday Herald
Hamish MacDonnell, The Scotsman
Peter MacMahon, The Scotsman
Gerri Peev, The Scotsman
Mandy Rhodes, Holyrood Magazine

Sports Feature Writer of the Year
Douglas James Alexander, The Sunday Times Scotland
Richard Bath, Scotland on Sunday
Tom English, Scotland on Sunday
Hugh MacDonald, The Herald
Richard Wilson, The Sunday Times Scotland

Sports News Writer of the Year
Roger Hannah, The Scottish Sun
Iain Rossi King, The Scottish Sun
Brian Majoribanks, Scottish Daily Mail
Scott McDermot, Sunday Mail
Derek McGregor, The Scottish Sun

Sports Scoop of the Year
Neil Cameron, Daily Record – Back on the Bevvy
Keith Jackson, Daily Record – You’re rumbled
Gary Ralston, Daily Record – Hibs revolt
Darren Tulett, Scotland on Sunday – The real story behind Le Guen’s exit from Ibrox

Arts / Entertainment Journalist of the Year
Matthew William Bendoris, Scottish Sun
Anna Burnside, The Sunday Times
Brian McIver, Daily Record
Phil Miller, The Herald
Aidan Gordon Smith, Scotland on Sunday

Cartoonist of the Year
Brian Adcock, Scotland on Sunday
Frank Boyle, Edinburgh Evening News
Steven Camley, The Herald
Bill McArthur, The Herald
Nick Newman, The Sunday Times Scotland

Young Journalist of the Year
Lisa Boyle, Ayrshire Post
Ryan James Crighton, The Press and Journal
Steve Dineen, Sunday Mail
Rachelle Money, Freelance
Richard Winton, The Herald
Alice Wyllie, The Scotsman

Gaelic Journalist of the Year
Angus Peter Campbell, An Gaidheal Ur
Alasdair H Campbell, The Scotsman
Ishabel T MacDonald, The Scotsman
Murchadh Macleoid, Scotland on Sunday
Neil McRae, The Scotsman

News Photographer of the Year
Brian Anderson, News of the World
Peter Kelly, Scottish Sun
Alasdair Macleod, Sunday Mail
Andrew Milligan, The Herald
Ian Rutherfod, The Scotsman

Sports Photographer of the Year
Thomas Main, Freelancer
Colin Mearns, The Herald
Kenneth M Ramsay, Scottish Sun
Ian Rutherford, The Scotsman
Phil Wilkinson, Scotland on Sunday


A Sub (02/02/2010 16:03:48)
Where is the category for sub-editor of the year?