AddThis SmartLayers

Regional newspaper reporters shortlisted for One World award

Two regional newspaper reporters have been shortlisted for a One World Media Award.

Lucy Adams, from The Herald in Glasgow, and Rebecca Lowe, from the Swansea-based South Wales Evening Post, are up for Local Media Award at the 20th annual ceremony.

The scheme offers 12 prizes celebrating journalists who have shown excellence in reporting the developing world.

Lucy’s entry, A History of Violence, is about former child soldiers in Uganda while Rebecca’s Time to Stop Human Traffic focuses on trafficking out of Cambodia. Carole Green from ITV Wales is the other shortlisted candidate in this category.

The awards ceremony, run by the One World Broadcasting Trust, is being held on June 12 in Covent Garden.

The host will be Channel 4’s Jon Snow and the guest speaker will be the Lord Archbishop of York Dr John Sentamu.

The full shortlist is:

Press Award
Asda, Primark, and Tesco Accused – Karen McVeigh, The Guardian
Fruitless in Gaza – Donald MacIntyre, The Independent
Inside a Nest of Suicide Bombers – Hala Jaber, The Sunday Times

New Media Award
Burma Coverage – BBC News and Media
Why Democracy – Don Edkins and Mette Heide, Steps International; Nick Fraser, BBC Storyville
Katine: It Starts with a Village – Katine Project, Guardian News and Media

Local Media Award
Changing Lives, The Fair Trade Story – Carole Green, ITV Wales
Time to Stop Human Traffic – Rebecca Lowe, South Wales Evening Post
A History of Violence – Lucy Adams, The Herald

Broadcast Journalist of the Year
Mike Thomson – Today Programme, BBC Radio 4
Jonathan Miller – ITN for Channel 4
Emma Hurd – Sky News

Radio Documentary
Calls Across the Wall – Jeremy Grange, BBC Wales for BBC Radio 4
Lost in Translation – John Waite, Karen Pirie, and Andrew Smith, BBC Radio 4’s Face the Facts
Desperate Dreams (The Monday Documentary) – Jenny Cuffe and David Ross, BBC World Service

TV Documentary
Taxi to the Dark Side – Alex Gibney and Nick Fraser, BBC Storyville for BBC 2
Please Vote for Me – Weijun Chen and Nick Fraser, BBC Storyville for BBC 4
War on Democracy – John Pilger, Chris Martin, Wayne Young, Michael Watt and Joe Frost, ITV

Popular Features Award
14 in One Room – Lucy Bailey, Guy Littlemore, Pete Drinkwater, Comic Relief, BBC Bristol
Seeing is Believing – AA Gill, Sunday Times Magazine
This is Baba – Dan McDougall and Robin Hammond, Observer Sport Monthly

Millennium Development Goals Award
EU El Dorado – Louise Williams for Newstalk, 106-108 Dublin
Iron Ladies of Liberia – Daniel Junge, Siatta Scott Johnson and Nick Fraser, BBC Storyville
The unluckiest baby in the world – Katherine Butler, The Independent

Children’s Rights Award
The Cotton Curse: Child Labour in Uzbekistan – Simon Ostrovsky, Therese Randall, Sara Afshar, Insight News Television/BBC
China’s Stolen Children – A Dispatches Special – Jezza Neumann, Sky Zen, Kate Blewett, Brian Woods, Channel 4
KS3 Citizenship: Child Labour – Rosa Rogers, Mark Galloway, Harvey Woolfe and Evans Woolfe, Teachers TV

Environment Award
Carbon Offset – Business Daily Team, BBC World Service
The Biofuel Time Bomb – Jonathan Green, Live, Mail on Sunday
Sold Down the River – John Vidal, The Guardian

International Premiere
A Jihad for Love – Parvez Sharma, Halal Films
End of the Rainbow – Robert Nugent, Mitzi Goldman, Jean Pierre Gibrat and Michel Zwecker, Looking Glass Pictures and Trans Europe Film
War/Dance – Sean Fine and Andrea Nix Fine, Fine Films, Think Films

Special Award for Development Media
For an outstanding community media project or organisation working on the ground in the developing world. The 2007 winner was South Asia’s first independent community radio station, Radio Sagarmatha