AddThis SmartLayers

North-west journalism talent to be celebrated at inaugural awards

Journalists and broadcasters will gather next week the first O2 Media Awards for Cheshire and Merseyside.

Among the finalists in the 11 prize categories are the Liverpool Echo, Daily Post and Warrington Guardian.

The editorial team from Granada Reports is also shortlisted in four awards while the finalists of the news reporting section all hail from the Liverpool Echo.

Weekly titles Chester Chronicle and Widnes Weekly News will battle big regional dailies for the newspaper of the year crown.

The judging panel comprised Manchester Evening News editor Paul Horrocks, Bolton News editor Ian Savage and Richard Catlow, editorial director of Greater Manchester Weekly Newspapers.

Awards spokesman Mark Rossiter said the awards scheme had been so well received that O2 was considering rolling out similar awards for other parts of the country.

The winners will be announced at a presentation evening on Thursday at the company’s headquarters in Preston Brook, Cheshire.

The shortlist of entries is:

Newspaper of the Year
Wirral News
Daily Post
Chester Chronicle
Warrington Guardian
Widnes Weekly News
Liverpool Echo

Young Journalist of the Year
David Bartlett – Daily Post
Natasha Robson – Southport Champion
Marc Waddington – Crewe Chronicle
Gemma Jaleel – Ormskirk Advertiser

News Reporter of the Year
Ben Turner – Liverpool Echo
Mary Murtagh – Liverpool Echo
Ben Rossington – Liverpool Echo

Scoop of the Year
Daily Post
Liverpool Echo
Granada Reports

Photographer of the Year
Colin Lane – Liverpool Daily Post and Echo
Mike Boden – Warrington Guardian
Jason Roberts – Liverpool Daily Post and Echo

Feature Writer of the Year
Laura Davies – Daily Post
Paddy Shennan – Liverpool Echo
Peter Grant – Liverpool Echo

Sports Journalist of the Year
Mike Hall – Granada Reports
Steve Hothersall – Radio City
Peter Gittins – Silk FM

Editorial Team of the Year
Liverpool Echo
Granada Reports
Warrington Guardian

Digital Journalist of the Year
Tony Clixby – Chester Chronicle
Rebecca Edwards – Chester Chronicle
David Chana – Warrington Guardian

TV Broadcast Journalist of the Year
Tessa Chapman – Granada Reports
Andy Gill – BBC North West Tonight

Radio Broadcaster of the Year
Rebecca Wood – Silk FM
Sarah Poole – Wire FM
Radio City

Take part in our Reader Survey here