AddThis SmartLayers

Newcomer Nev scoops double trophy win

  • See all the winners’ photos
  • Read what the judges said about the winners
  • View all those shortlisted

    Trainee reporter Nev Wilson made a small slice of history as the EDF Energy London and South of England Media Awards winners were announced yesterday.

    The 26-year-old Surrey Mirror reporter became the first ever to win both the Newcomer and Weekly Print Journalist of the Year prizes at the same awards.

    But the glory didn’t end there for the Northcliffe title as Simon Osbourn took Sports Reporter of the Year while the Surrey Mirror was crowned Paid-for Weekly Newspaper of the Year.

    Nev, who joined the paper in May last year, said: “I am really chuffed. I thought getting one is amazing so for and EDF first to get a double is unbelievable.

    “I’ve got my seniors in two weeks time – ever since I joined the paper I’ve just loved it.”

    Other big winners were Brighton daily The Argus which took Daily Newspaper of the Year and The News, Portsmouth, which won four prizes including Front Page for its striking design to mark Portsmouth FC’s FA Cup Final appearance (below).

    Argus editor Michael Beard said: “It’s a tribute to the hard work put in by everyone at the paper, it’s been a tough year but I am glad they’ve got the recognition.

    “They were up against some really tough competition.”

    The awards, run in association with HoldtheFrontPage, were presented at London Zoo. EDF Energy’s sponsorship saw individual winners take home £100 cash prizes with trophies for all category champions.

    The awards winners in full are:

    Daily Newspaper of the Year

    The Argus, Brighton

    Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Paid-for)

    Surrey Mirror

    Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Free)

    Crawley News

    Print Journalist of the Year (Daily)

    Matt Jackson The News, Portsmouth

    Print Journalist of the Year (Weekly)

    Nev Wilson, Surrey Mirror

    Newcomer of the Year

    Nev Wilson, Surrey Mirror

    Environmental Journalist of the Year

    Malcolm Shaw, ITV Meridian

    Business Journalist of the Year

    Gareth Lewis, Southern Daily Echo, Southampton

    News Photographer of the Year

    Stuart Emmerson, Harrow and Wembley Observer

    Sports Journalist of the Year

    Simon Osborn, Surrey Mirror

    Feature Writer of the Year

    Simon Toft, The News, Portsmouth

    Columnist of the Year

    Neal Butterworth, Daily Echo, Bournemouth

    Designer of the Year

    Alan Cooper, The News, Portsmouth

    Radio Journalist of the Year

    Ed Cook, BBC Radio Kent

    Television Journalist of the Year

    Jon Hunt, BBC South East Today

    Radio News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year

    John Warnett, Breakfast Show BBC Radio Kent

    Television News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year

    ITV Thames Valley, Heathrow Terminal 5

    Community Campaign of the Year

    ‘Parking Mad’ – Daily Echo, Bournemouth

    Website of the Year

    Hamstead & Highgate Express –

    Front Page of the Year

    ‘Pompey Expects’ – The News, Portsmouth