AddThis SmartLayers

Media company presents editorial excellence awards to staff

The winners of the very first Iliffe News and Media Editorial Excellence awards scheme have been presented with their trophies and certificates at a ceremonial lunch.

The launch of the award scheme came as a result of the independent group’s expansion through acquisition of a number of daily and weekly newspaper titles in the Midlands and the East of England.

The winners and those highly commended gathered along with senior editorial and group executives at a presentation lunch held in Milton Keynes.

For a full list of winners click through to our January story.

  • Rob Gibson of MK News receives his Young Reporter
    of the Year award from The Hon Edward Iliffe
  • Rachel Extance and Sarah Ryan of the Cambridge
    Evening News with their Scoop of the Year award
  • All the winners and runners up in the inaugural awards scheme
  • A panel of independent judges were used for the scheme and these included Peter Sands, director of the Editorial Centre and PA Training, Bob Satchwell, executive director of the Society of Editors, and Matthew Fearn, deputy picture editor of the Sunday Telegraph.

    The awards lunch was hosted by Andy Gough, managing director of Iliffe Digital Media and chairman of the Group Editors’ Forum, and the awards were presented by The Hon. Edward Iliffe and the Iliffe News and Media chief executive David Fordham.