AddThis SmartLayers

Judges line-up for EDF Energy Media Awards unveiled

The line-up of judges can now be unveiled for the EDF Energy East of England media awards which officially close tomorrow.

The panel contains some impressive names with decades of journalistic experience between them.

The awards, run in association with HoldtheFrontPage, cover Norfolk, Suffolk, Essex, Cambridgeshire and parts of Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire. The most westerly towns in this region are Peterborough, Bedford and Aylesbury and, to the south, the area outside the M25.

The judging is taking place next Wednesday in London.

Although the official closing date for entries is tomorrow, we have decided to accept late entries up to 5pm on Monday, 8 December. The entry form can be downloaded now here.

Without further ado, here are our judges:

  • Neal Butterworth has been editor of the Bournemouth Echo for the past ten years. Earlier this year he was also made editor-in-chief of sister title the Dorset Echo in addition to his existing role.

    As well as his editing skills, Neal is also an accomplished writer, having won the Columnist of the Year prize at this year’s EDF Energy London and South of England Awards.

  • Andy Wright is currently editor of the Western Daily Press in Bristol having enjoyed a long career in regional newspapers.

    After entering journalism as a trainee reporter with the Bridgnorth Journal, he joined the Shropshire Star where he eventually progressed to editor. Before taking up his current role he was deputy editor of the Derby Evening Telegraph.

  • Hannah Walker has been editor of the twice-weekly South London Press since 2000.

    She began her career as a reporter with the Birmingham Post and Mail group and went on to edit papers in Rugby, Northampton and East London.

  • Karen Ainley is a former regional TV reporter and presenter and once again provides the main broadcasting expertise on the panel.

    She began her journalism career as a reporter on weekly and evening papers and is an experienced Chartered Institute of Public Relations-approved media trainer.

  • Nigel Bowles is co-director at the photographic agency John Connor Press Associates which supplies pictures for the national press, magazines and a number of corporate clients.

    He spent five years on the picture deskk at The Argus, in Brighton, before leaving to take up his current role.

  • Claire Byrd is the head of regional media relations for award sponsors EDF Energy.

    A former news editor and assistant editor of The Argus, she is now in charge of EDF Energy’s regional media activity across the country.

    There is still just time to enter any of the 20 categories. Any outstanding entries should be sent to:

    Paul Linford
    Northcliffe House
    Meadow Road
    DE1 2BH