AddThis SmartLayers

Citizen scoops top prize at EDF Energy South West Media Awards

The Citizen has been crowned Daily Newspaper of the Year at the fourth EDF Energy South West Media Awards.

The event, held in association with, welcomed more than 150 journalists to Swindon’s railway museum Steam for the event.

They saw the Citizen scoop the top prize for dailies, while the re-launched Bath Chronicle was named best paid-for weekly and the Weston and Worle News the top free weekly in the westcountry.

Citizen editor Ian Mean said: “We are delighted to have won Newspaper of the Year again, it is testimony to the team we have working on the paper.

“However, we are not resting on our laurels, and are always striving to improve to ensure we continue to remain at the heart of local news in the county.”

Bath Chronicle editor Sam Holliday said: “This is another fantastic milestone for our group and one which we are very proud of. It has proved to the rest of the South West what we have always known – that no one does weekly papers like we do weekly papers!”

The Bristol-based Western Daily Press scooped the most awards, with its haul of three trophies including Front Page of the Year.

The awards took in print and broadcast journalism from across the region, which includes Gloucestershire, Wiltshire, Somerset, Devon and Cornwall.

The event also raised money for The Journalists’ Charity, with a donation of £500 from the sponsors EDF Energy and a table collection from visitors to boost the total.

The awards were presented by EDF’s customer account services director Steve Hayfield and paralympic swimmer Giles Long MBE.

Giles overcame cancer to win more than 20 major medals including Paralympic, European and World Championship gold medals.

The full list of winners:

Daily Newspaper of the Year

The Citizen (Gloucester)

Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Paid-for)

Bath Chronicle

Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Free)

Weston and Worle News

Front Page of the Year

Western Daily Press, Just do it Dad!

Print Journalist of the Year (Daily)

Daniel Evans, Western Daily Press

Print Journalist of the Year (Weekly)

Tom Bevan, Western Gazette

Television Journalist of the Year

Matthew Hill, BBC

Radio Journalist of the Year

Nick Beake, BBC Radio Bristol

Newcomer of the Year

Naomi Harris, Express and Echo

TV News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year

James Garrett, ITV West Eye View – Bomb Damage

Radio News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year

Tristan Hunkin, Pirate FM

Website of the Year

This is Cornwall

Feature Writer of the Year

Martin Hesp, Western Morning News

Columnist of the Year

Tim Davey, Bristol Evening Post

News Photographer of the Year

Mikal Ludlow, Glos Media

Sports Journalist of the Year

Andy Cryer, Swindon Advertiser

Business Journalist of the Year

James Cowling, Bristol Evening Post

Environmental Journalist of the Year

Susie Weldon, Western Daily Press

Community Campaign of the Year

Express and Echo – Green Shoppers Campaign