AddThis SmartLayers

Chronicle editor to chair newspaper journalism board

David Gledhill has been appointed as the new chair of the NCTJ’s newspaper journalism board.

Editor of the Bath Chronicle for the past ten years, he succeeds Mike Woods who retired recently from the NCTJ and chaired the board for almost a decade.

The newspaper journalism board oversees all the practical journalism aspects of the NCTJ’s qualifications for newspaper journalists including the full syllabus and examinations for the prelims and NCE.

David (pictured) will lead the board at a critical time in the NCTJ’s development as it is set to achieve recognition from the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority in 2005. There are plans to extend and enhance the provision of qualifications for newspaper journalists.

He said: “Some may be surprised by the appointment, as I have in the past been a fierce critic of the NCE. But with the help of Joanne Butcher the NCTJ has shown it is determined to modernise and meet new industry standards that can only be achieved through up to date, relevant examination pieces.

“I think most people agree that the days of the Oxdown ambulance chasers are long since gone and we need to show everyone, readers and editors alike, that we are professionals, trained to an exacting professional standard.”

Before joining the Bath Chronicle in 1994, David had worked at the Dewsbury Reporter, the Bradford Telegraph & Argus and the Swindon Evening Advertiser, starting his career at the Spenborough Guardian in Cleckheaton.

He was appointed vice president of the Society of Editors earlier this year.

NCTJ chief executive Joanne Butcher said: “I am delighted that someone with David’s calibre and commitment to high standards of journalism has accepted the invitation to oversee the development of our qualifications for newspaper journalists.

“His appointment is part of our strategy to meet the ever-changing needs of today’s journalists and to strengthen the role and profile of the NCTJ and its crucial importance in delivering the premier training scheme for journalists in the UK.”

  • The members of the newspaper journalism board are: David Gledhill (chair), Pip Clarkson, Steve Nelson, Mary Payne, Beverley Rigby, Edward Riley, David Rowell, Tony Simms, Jon Smith, Keith Stafford and Richard Taylor.

    Back to the training index

    Do you have a story about the regional press? Ring 0116 227 3122/3121, or
    e-mail [email protected]