AddThis SmartLayers

BT awards shortlist unveiled

IT’S down to two – Metro London and the Ipswich Evening Star – in the battle to be named London and Northern Home Counties Daily Newspaper of the Year.

Shortlisted entrants in the annual BT Press and Broadcast Awards were named yesterday. The final results in 12 categories will be announced at the Marble Arch Thistle Hotel, Brysnston Street, London, on April 28.

The next-best thing to being there will be to log on to HoldTheFrontPage. We’ll have full details soon after they’re announced.

Shortlisted entrants are:

Business Journalist of the Year:
Brian Milligan – BBC South East
Jennifer Chapman – Cambridge Evening News

Sports Journalist of the Year:
Graham Dunbar – Norwich Evening News
Kevin Impey – News Shopper
Angela Davis – BBC Newsroom South East

News Photographer of the Year:
Andrew Hendry – Ipswich Evening Star
Nicky Lewin – East Anglian Daily Times
Keith Mindham – East Anglian Daily Times

Feature Writer of the Year:
Martin Barsby – East Anglian Daily Times
Iris Clapp – Colchester Evening Gazette
George Frew – Oxford Mail
Reg Little – Oxford Times

Radio News Broadcaster of the Year:
Jon Gaunt – BBC Three Counties Radio
Clare McDonnell – BBC GLR

Television News Broadcaster of the Year
James Blatch – BBC Look East
Maxwell Hutchinson – BBC South East

Weekly News Journalist of the Year
Lee Brown – South London Press
Geoff Fox – The Slough Express
Hannah Goff – South London Press

Daily News Journalist of the Year
Helen Ashworth – Eastern Daily Press
Theresa Gains – Southend Evening Echo
Sarah Holmes and Caroline Jenkinson – Norwich Evening News

Newcomer of the Year
Lisa Baxter – Ipswich Evening Star
Judith Moritz – BBC Look East
Tim Samuels – BBC South East

News Current/Affairs Programme of the Year
A Burning Injustice – Carlton/Central (Simon Garrett and Clare Taylor)
Paddington Rail Crash – Heart FM (Jonathan Richards)
Soho Bomb Special – London News Network (John Glover)

Weekly Newspaper of the Year
Bucks Free Press – editor Paul Ryan
Romford Recorder – editor Mark Sweetingham
South London Press – editor Hannah Walker

Daily Newspaper of the Year
Ipswich Evening Star – editor Nigel Pickover
Metro London – editor Ian Macgregor

Do you have a story for us?
Ring the HoldTheFrontPage newsdesk on
01332 291111 x6022, or e-mail us now