AddThis SmartLayers

Awards hopefuls line up for prestigious BT final

The cream of the regional media will be saluted on Thursday as the prestigious BT national awards for excellence are handed out.

A quality field of entrants, already crowned regional winners in nine heats across the country, has been chosen from the 2,500 entries received in total this year.

The finalists will attend the the BT UK Regional Press and Broadcast Awards 2000 at the Royal Garden Hotel, Kensington, and HoldTheFrontPage will be there to bring you results on this website as soon as they have been announced.

BBC newsreader Huw Edwards will compere the event, which is expected to take place before an audience of 250.

Each of nine individual category winners will be presented with a trophy and receive a cheque for £1,000. The winners of the Daily and Weekly Newspaper, news/current affairs programme and website publication categories will get a trophy and £1,000 for a charity of their choice.

The finalists are:

Business Journalist of the Year:
Simon Bain, The Herald
David Litterick, The News, Portsmouth
Steve Brauner, North West Business Insider (now assistant editor, Daily Post)
Jennifer Chapman, Cambridge Evening News
Chris Starkie, Evening Post, Bristol
Mark Currie, Daily Post
Jim Simpson, Yorkshire Post
Carlton Baxter, Ulster Business
Jon Griffin, Birmingham Evening Mail

Sports Journalist of the Year:
Doug Gillon, The Herald
Andy Steggall, Meridian Broadcasting
Alistair Mann, Granada TV
Graham Dunbar, Norwich Evening News
Geoff Twentyman, BBC Radio Bristol
Bob Humphrys, BBC Wales
Jeremy Robinson, Sunday Sun
Terry McLaughlin, Sunday Independent (NI)
Leon Hickman, Birmingham Evening Mail

News Photographer of the Year:
Robert Perry, Scotland on Sunday
Richard Crease, The Daily Echo, Bournemouth
Ian Cooper, News & Star, Carlisle
Nicky Lewin, East Anglian Daily Times
Sam Moore, Freelance, Cornwall
Mike Lewis, South Wales Argus
Mike Tipping, York Evening Press
Cathal McNaughton, Northern Ireland
Steve Murphy, Birmingham Evening Mail

Feature Writer of the Year:
Catherine Deveney, Scotland on Sunday
Angela Wintle, Evening Argus, Brighton
Melanie Clarkson, Manchester Evening News
George Frew, Oxford Mail
Will Simpson, The Big Issue, South West
Brendon Williams, Western Mail (now Welsh Mirror)
Tim Power, Yorkshire Evening Post
John Mullin, Northern Ireland correspondent for The Guardian
Peter Rhodes, Wolverhampton Express & Star

Radio News Broadcaster of the Year:
John Warnett, BBC Radio Kent
Phillippa Heap, Key 103 FM
Jon Gaunt, BBC Three Counties Radio
Tim Hubbard, BBC Radio Cornwall
Wyre Davies and Phil Parry, BBC Wales
Andrew Edwards, BBC Radio Leeds
Mandy McAuley, BBC
Andy Whittaker, BBC Radio Derby

Television News Broadcaster of the Year:
Dave Cowan, Scottish Television
Hugh Kirby, Meridian Broadcasting
Alan Whitehouse, BBC North West
Greg Milam, Anglia News East
Matthew Hill, BBC News West
Ellis Roberts, BBC Wales
Alan Whitehouse, BBC North Leeds
Mark Simpson, BBC
Robin Powell, Central News West

Weekly News Journalist of the Year:
Alan Muir, Falkirk Herald
Edward Swindon, Manchester Metro News
Lee Brown, South London Press
Ian Shepherd, Cornish Guardian
Sue Goddard, Cambrian News
Roger Woodcock, Newcastle Herald & Post
Victor Gordon, Portadown News
Carolyn Henson, Hinckley Times

Daily News Journalist of the Year:
Allan Caldwell, Glasgow Evening Times, and Robert McNeil, The Scotsman (joint winners)
David Edwards, Evening Argus, Brighton
Steve Panter, Manchester Evening News
Sarah Holmes/Caroline Jenkinson, Norwich Evening News
Tom Richmond, Express & Echo, Exeter
Karen Smith, Northern Echo
Chris Thornton, Belfast Telegraph
Bob Haywood, Sunday Mercury
Martin Shipton, Wales on Sunday

Newcomer of the Year:
Derek Lambie (now Scottish Express), for Newsflash Press Agency
Krissy Lloyd, Basingstoke Gazette
Tania Branigan, Manchester Evening News
Judith Moritz, BBC Look East
Jonathan Gibson, Carlton Westcountry TV
Bryn Jones, Daily Post
Chris Bucktin, Hull Daily Mail
Tim Brannigan, Irish News
Mary Murtagh, Stoke Sentinel

News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year:
Forth FM
Port in a Storm, BBC Radio Kent
North West Tonight, BBC North
Soho Bomb Special, London News Network (John Glover)
West Eye View, HTV West
Place of Safety, BBC Wales
BBC Look North, Leeds
Insight, Ulster TV
BBC Midlands Report, Ghost Train

Weekly Newspaper of the Year:
Falkirk Herald
Kent Messenger
Crosby Herald
South London Press
Somerset County Gazette
Golwg (Welsh language title)
Wakefield Express
Mid Ulster Mail
Hinckley Times

Daily Newspaper of the Year:
The Press & Journal
Evening Argus, Brighton
Manchester Evening News
Ipswich Evening Star
Western Morning News
Western Mail
Yorkshire Post
Sunday People (Belfast)
Sunday Mercury

Website Publication of the Year:
BBC News Online Scotland from Key 103
Total Wales, Western Mail and Echo
Everest Online, BBC North East and Cumbria
BBC Northern Ireland

Have you won an award? We’d love to hear from you
E-mail us now for more details.