AddThis SmartLayers

Yorkshire journalists vie for prizes

Organisers of the Yorkshire Press Awards 2003 have revealed which journalists and newspapers could be taking home an award next month, with the announcement of this year’s shortlist.

The annual competition, which is sponsored by Yorkshire Water, will see 14 awards handed out – including prizes for the best daily and weekly Yorkshire Newspaper of the Year.

Newspaper staff from across the Yorkshire region will also compete for the individual titles of Young Journalist of the Year, Community Writer of the Year, Leader Writer of the Year, Columnist of the Year, daily and weekly Feature Writer of the Year, Photographer of the Year, Sports Writer of the Year, daily and weekly News Reporter of the Year and Graphic Designer of the Year.

An overall award of Yorkshire Journalist of the Year will also be presented to one of the individual prize winners.

Those shortlisted for an award are:

  • Lucy Ashton, The Star, Sheffield;
  • Ann Beedham, The Star, Sheffield;
  • Jessica Boulton, Hull Daily Mail;
  • Lisa Cook, York Evening Press;
  • Jayne Dawson, Yorkshire Evening Post;
  • Paul Dews, Yorkshire Evening Post;
  • Dewsbury Reporter;
  • Andrew Hebden, Bradford Telegraph & Argus;
  • Margaret Heward, Spenborough Guardian;
  • Neil Hodgkinson, Yorkshire Evening Post;
  • Hull Daily Mail;
  • Simon Hulme, Yorkshire Post;
  • Paul License, The Star;
  • Arlene Lawler, Wakefield Express;
  • Rick Lyon, Hull Daily Mail;
  • Roger Vaughan Moody, Bradford Telegraph & Argus;
  • Kate O’Hara, Yorkshire Post;
  • Samantha Porter, Dewsbury & Mirfield Reporter;
  • Anne Pickles, Yorkshire Evening Post;
  • Joanna Rostron, Harrogate Advertiser;
  • Maggie Stratton, Yorkshire Post;
  • Wakefield Express;
  • Margaret Watson, Dewsbury Reporter;
  • Matthew Woodcock, York Evening Press;
  • Scott Wilson, Yorkshire Evening Post;
  • Yorkshire Evening Post.

    The winners will be announced on November 27 during a ceremony at the Cedar Court Hotel in Wakefield.

    Each individual winner will receive a cash prize of £100, with each runner-up receiving £50. A further £500 will also be presented to the overall Journalist of the Year, with £100 for the runner-up.

    Back to the awards index

    Have you won a press award? We’d love to hear from you.
    E-mail [email protected]