AddThis SmartLayers

Yorkshire journalists get their rewards

The Bradford Telegraph & Argus has been named Yorkshire’s daily Newspaper of the Year.

The paper scooped the award at the annual Yorkshire Press Awards, held at the Cedar Court Hotel in Wakefield.

It was one of 14 handed out at the event organised by Sheffield Newspapers Ltd, and sponsored by Yorkshire Water.

Judges praised the Telegraph & Argus for its “detailed and comprehensive” coverage of the Bradford riots, which they said made it a worthy winner.

The award for the weekly Yorkshire Newspaper of the Year was won by the Harrogate Advertiser, which judges said was “a clear winner”, taking full advantage of its broadsheet format.

For the second year running, the Yorkshire Post’s Andrew Vine was named Journalist of the Year, for which he received £500 and an engraved rose bowl, and he was also named Feature Writer of the Year.

Of Andrew’s repeat win, judges said: “In a sense the judges tried to avoid it – but it wouldn’t have been right. The best should win, even if it’s repetitious.”

Other winners included Paul Robinson, of the Yorkshire Evening Post, who was named daily News Reporter of the Year, and Ben Griffin, from the Wakefield Express, who was awarded the weekly News Reporter of the Year title.

For a full list of winners, click here.

Master of ceremonies was David Edmondon, managing director of Sheffield Newspapers, and the awards were handed out by Kevin Whiteman, chief executive of Yorkshire Water.

Individual winners received £150 prize money, a glass trophy and a certificate, and runners-up were given £50 and a certificate.

  • York Evening Press graphic designer Lisa Cook, (31), triumphed at the awards to take herfourth consecutive Graphic Designer of the Year title.

    Back to the awards index

    Have you won a press award? We’d love to hear from you.
    E-mail [email protected]