AddThis SmartLayers

Top candidates rewarded

A number of awards have been handed out for outstanding candidates in recent National Council for the Training of Journalists’ exams.

Three shorthand prizes have been awarded.

For the first time there were two winners of the Harry Butler Prize, each receiving £50.

Bobbie Chatt, who studied at Harlow College, and Rebecca Wade from Darlington College were both rewarded for the best 100% accurate transcription in an NCTJ 100 wpm shorthand exam.

Cumbrian Newspapers’ Prize offers £50 prize for the best 100% accurate transcription in an NCTJ 110 or 120wpm shorthand exam.

The first winner is Sarah Bayliss, of the Craven Herald, who studied at Darlington College.

Andrew Chamberlain of the Burnley Express has won the Butterworths’ Law Prize for the best Law II paper submitted in NCTJ exams during 1999. He studied at Sheffield College.

The winner for 2000 is Claire Stoker of Anfield & Walton Star & Merseymart, who studied at Liverpool Community College.

Both winners receive £250.

There is also a £250 award for the best local government paper submitted in NCTJ exams for the year 1999-2000, the annual Society of County and Unitary Public Relations Officers (SCUPRO) Prize for Young Journalists.

Laura Smith-Spark who attended Sheffield College, Norton Centre, fast-track post-graduate course, took the prize this time.

Back to the awards index

Have you won an award? We’d love to hear from you.
E-mail us now for more details.