AddThis SmartLayers

Strong showing for regionals in sports awards contest

Regional journalists and photographers are among those to make the shortlist for this year’s British Sports JournalismAwards, vying with colleagues from nationals and agencies.

Journalists John Gibson from the Newcastle Evening Chronicle, David Mullahey from the Liverpool Daily Post, James Toney from The Herald in Glasgow, Martin Smith from The Star in Sheffield and Paul Dews and Phil Rostron from the Yorkshire Evening Post are all nominated for Regional Writer of the Year.

In the best sports team category, staff from the Yorkshire Evening Post have been shortlisted for their Leeds United crisis coverage, and face competition from four national publications.

Also facing national competition will be Paul Pickard from The Sentinel in Stoke-on-Trent, who is the only staff photographer from the regional press to be shortlisted in the photographic section.

He will be hoping to walk away with the award for the best sports feature picture with his image of pensioner Michael Jones taking part in the Potteries Marathon.

Organised by Sport England in conjunction with the Sports Writers Association, the competition recognises quality sports journalism.

All the winners will be announced at an awards dinner at the Radisson Portman Hotel in London’s West End on Monday, March 8.

Each of the winners will receive a specially-commissioned trophy.

A full list of nominees is below:

Sports Columnist:
Hugh McIlvanney, Sunday Times
Michael Parkinson, Daily Telegraph
Patrick Collins, Mail on Sunday
Paul Hayward, Daily Telegraph
Martin Samuel, The Times
Brian Reade, Daily Mirror
James Lawton, Independent

Specialist Correspondent:
Simon Wilde, Sunday Times
Brian Doogan, Sunday Times
Stephen Jones, Sunday Times
Henry Winter, Daily Telegraph
Harry Harris, Daily Express
Rob Draper, Mail on Sunday
Alastair Down, Racing Post

Sports Feature Writer:
Simon Hart, Sunday Telegraph
Andrew Longmore, Sunday Times
Kevin Mitchell, Observer
Andrew Anthony, Observer Sport Monthly
Simon Barnes, The Times
Paul Hayard, Daily Telegraph
Patrick Collins, Mail on Sunday
Oliver Holt, Daily Mirror

Sports News Reporter:
Charles Sale, Daily Mail
Neil Ashton, The People
David Conn, Independent
Mihir Bose, Daily Telegraph
Harry Harris, Daily Express
Martyn Ziegler, Press Association
Joe Melling, Mail on Sunday
David Bond, Sunday Times

Regional Writer:
John Gibson, Newcastle Evening Chronicle
David Mullahey, Liverpool Daily Post
James Toney, Glasgow Herald
Paul Dews, Yorkshire Evening Post
Phil Rostron, Yorkshire Evening Post
Martin Smith, The Star, Sheffield

Sports Interviewer:
Paul Kimmage, Sunday Times
David Walsh, Sunday Times
Alison Kervin, The Times
Donald McRae, Guardian
Sue Mott, Daily Telegraph
Nick Townsend, Independent on Sunday

Sports Diarist
Charles Sale, Daily Mail
Mihir Bose, Daily Telegraph
Alan Hubbard, Independent on Sunday

Sports Team:
Yorkshire Evening Post (for Leeds United crisis coverage)
The Times (Rugby World Cup)
Sunday Times (Rugby World Cup)
Daily Telegraph (London 2012 Olympic bid)
Observer Sport Monthly (Review of World Cup)

Sports Portfolio:
Phil Cole, Getty Images
Shaun Botterill, Getty Images
Clive Mason, Getty Images

Action Picture:
Shaun Botterill, Getty Images
Andy Hooper, Daily Mail

Specialist Portfolio:
Tom Jenkins, Guardian/Observer
Dave Rogers, Getty Images
Edward Whitaker, Racing Post

Sports News Picture:
Marc Aspland, The Times
Dave Rogers, Getty Images
John Dawes, Freelance

Sports Feature Picture:
Scott Barbour, Getty Images
Ross Kinaird, Getty Images
Paul Pickard, Stoke Sentinel

Sports Picture of the Year:
Shaun Botterill, Getty Images
Mark Robinson, The Sun
Edward Whitaker, Racing Post

David Worthy Award:
Robert Hallam, Freelance
Robert Timoney, Freelance
Geoff Waugh, Freelance

Back to the awards index

Have you won a press award? We’d love to hear from you.