AddThis SmartLayers

Scottish Press Awards nominations are announced

The Glasgow Herald, Aberdeen Evening Express and the Press & Journal could be among the winners of the Scottish Press Awards later this year.

A number of journalists from all three, as well as the Sunday Herald and Edinburgh Evening News are named in the nominations, which have just been announced.

Evening Express writer Moreen Simpson is in the running for Columnist of the Year, Paul Hartley of the Press & Journal could win Campaign of the Year and writers from the weekly John O’Groats Journal, Airdrie and Coatbridge Advertiser and Falkirk Herald are nominated for Weekly Journalist of the Year.

The full list of nominations is:

Scoop of the year: Alan Crow, Scottish Mail on Sunday; Lorna Hughes,Sunday Mail; Matthew Knowles, Mail on Sunday; Christopher Hope,Business AM.

Reporter of the year (sponsored by Standard Life): Patricia Kane, ScottishDaily Mail; Matthew Knowles, Mail on Sunday; Neil MacKay, SundayHerald; David Pratt, Sunday Herald.

Journalist Team of the year: Daily Record; Scottish Daily Mail; SundayHerald; The Herald.

Feature Writer of the year (sponsored by Shell): Gillian Bowditch,Sunday Times Scotland (Ecosse); Ajay Close, The Scotsman; LennoxMorrison, Scotland on Sunday; Jeremy Watson, Scotland onSunday.

Columnist of the year: Ian Bell, Business AM; Ron Ferguson, TheHerald; William McIlvanney, Scotland on Sunday; Moreen Simpson,Evening Express; Jonathan Wilson, Sunday Herald.

Campaign of the year (sponsored by Virgin Trains): Daily Record; AnnFotheringham, Evening Times; Paul Hartley, Press & Journal;Russell Leadbetter, Evening Times.

Financial Business Writer of the year (sponsored by Standard Life): Simon Bain,The Herald; Christopher Hope, Business AM; Kenny Kemp, SundayHerald; Ian McConnell, The Herald.

Front Page of the year: Business AM; Daily Record; Evening Times; ScottishSun.

Political Journalist of the year (sponsored by BAA Scottish Airports): JasonAllardyce, Scotland on Sunday; Steve Bargeton, The Courier;Douglas Fraser, Sunday Herald; Euan McColm, News of the World;Paul Sinclair, Daily Record.

Sports Journalist of the year (sponsored by Bank of Scotland): DouglasAlexander, Sunday Times Scotland; Bryan Cooney, Sunday Herald;Doug Gillon, The Herald; Graham Spiers, The Herald.

Arts/Entertainment Writer of the year (sponsored by Allied Distillers Ltd):Neil Cameron, The Scotsman; Alistair McKay, The Scotsman(Magazine); Phil Miller, Sunday Times Scotland; Peter Ross,Sunday Herald.

Cartoonist of the year (sponsored by MCL): Frank Boyle, Evening News;Steven Camley, The Herald; Bill McArthur, The Herald; MartinTurner, Business AM.

Young Journalist of the year: James Ashton, Business AM; KennethMcAlpine, Scottish Sun; Kate Sherry, Scottish Daily Mail; AndreaVance, News of the World.

Weekly Journalist of the year: Jill Buchanan, Falkirk Herald; NoelDonaldson, John O’Groats Journal; John Hutcheson, Airdrie andCoatbridge Advertiser; Alan Muir, Falkirk Herald.

The David Boyle (Erskine Hospital) Memorial Award: Camillo Fracassini,Scotland on Sunday; Alan MacDermid, The Herald; John McCann,Evening Times; Sara-Kate Templeton, Sunday Herald.

Gaelic Journalist of the year: Aonghas Padraig Caimbeul, the Scotsman;Gordon Camshron, The Scotsman; Criosaidh Dick, The Scotsman;Murray MacLeod, An Gaidheal UR.

Back to the awards index

Have you won a press award? We’d love to hear from you.
E-mail [email protected]