AddThis SmartLayers

Regionals shortlisted in health writing awards

Journalists from the regional press are among the shortlisted entrants for the mental health charity Mind’s Journalist of the Year awards.

The nominations reflect outstanding reporting of mental health issues in the local, national and consumer press.

Regional journalists will vie with some of the country’s leading reporters and columnists for the accolade of having contributed most to the public’s understanding of mental ill health.

John Howe, deputy news editor of the Sunderland Echo, Petra Mann, of the Liverpool Echo, and freelancer Jane Phillimore, whose work appeared in the Evening Standard, are among the nominees.

The 22nd Mind Awards ceremony, hosted by Mind president Melvyn Bragg, will take place on board HMS Belfast on June 5.

The winner will be chosen by three previous winners: Sarah Boseley of the Guardian, and freelance journalists Roger Dobson and Adam James.

Others on the shortlist are:

  • Sophie Goodchild (Home Affairs Correspondent) Independent on Sunday
  • David Batty (Social Care correspondent) The Guardian
  • Jonathan Freedland, The Guardian
  • Emma Morton (Health writer) The Sun
  • Nick Cohen (Columnist) Observer
  • Kim Jones, Bella

    The same ceremony will also highlight some of the worst reporting of mental health stories for its Bigot of the Year award.

    Nominated here are:

  • Robert Kilroy-Silk, Sunday Express
  • David Mellor, Sunday People
  • Alastair Taylor, The Sun.

    Back to the awards index

    Have you won a press award? We’d love to hear from you.