AddThis SmartLayers

Regional staff make sports journalism shortlist

Journalists and photographers from the regional press are among those to make it onto the shortlist for the British Sports Journalism Awards 2002.

The event, organised by Sport England in conjunction with the Sports Writers Association, recognises the best sports journalism among national and regional newspapers, together with news agencies and freelances.

Journalists Phil Rostron, from the Yorkshire Post, Doug Gillon of The Herald and the Evening Chronicle’s John Gibson, along with photographer Michelle Maddison from Evening Gazette are among those nominated for an award.

Later this month awards will be handed out in five writing categories – Sports Feature Writer of the Year; Sports Columnist of the Year; Special Correspondent; Sports News Story of the Year and Regional Sports Writer of the Year.

And six photography awards will be handed out, for the best sports portfolio, specialist sports portfolio, sports news picture, sports picture, Sport for All picture award and the David Worthy Memorial award.

However, it has not been revealed who has been nominated in which category at this stage.

All the winners will be announced during a ceremony at the Portman Radisson SAS Hotel in London on Monday, March 24.

A full list of nominees is below:

Brough Scott, The Sunday Telegraph
Matt Dickenson, The Times
Mike Selby, The Guardian
Stephen Jones, The Sunday Times
Mark Reason, The Sunday Telegraph
Phil Rostron, Yorkshire Evening Post
Doug Gillon, The Herald
John Gibson, Evening Chronicle
David Walsh, The Sunday Times
Patrick Collins, The Mail on Sunday
Simon Hart, The Sunday Telegraph
Andrew Longmere, The Sunday Times
Martin Johnson, The Daily Telegraph
Charlie Sale/Steve Curry, The Daily Mail
Mark Sousten, The Times
Mihir Bose, The Daily Telegraph
Harry Harris, The Daily Express
Oliver Holt, The Daily Mirror
Michael Parkinson, The Daily Telegraph
Martin Samuel, The Times
Richard Williams, The Guardian

Odd Anderson, Agence France Presse
Scott Barbour, Getty Images
Alan Edwards, Freelance
Robert Hallam, Freelance
Mike Hewitt, Getty Images
Ian Hodgson, Reuters
Tom Jenkins, The Guardian/Observer
Mark Leech, Offside Sports Photography
Rudy Lhomme, Action Images
Michelle Maddison, Evening Gazette
Brandon Malone, Action Images
Clive Mason, Getty Images
Phil Noble, Press Association
Geoff Waugh, Freelance

Back to the awards index

Have you won a press award? We’d love to hear from you.